Soy Equals ManBoobs

in #dtube6 years ago


ManBoobs are a crisis in the Western world. When I was growing up in the 1960's and 1970's I was a swimmer and rarely saw them at the pool. Now ManBoobs are everywhere and can be seen through clothing!

Soy equals Estrogen.

Estrogen is a female hormone. You do not need this hormone if you are a man and it just might not be good for you anyway.

Soy is now in most processed food. You can find out if this is true by reading the labels.

I mention in this video that the name for the soy in processed food is Soy Isoflavones. In case you want to look on your food labels and see if it is there, you can also look for the other names it goes by:

Genistein, Genistin, Daidzein, Daidzin, Equol, Dihydrogenistein, Dihydroglycitein, Glycitein, Glycitin

You can also find another soy product in many foods. This product is called Soy Lecithin. Soy Lecithin is also sold as a supplement telling you there are various health benefits. I do not take supplements and have not researched this topic, but again - soy is estrogen - a female hormone.

The other names for Soy Lecithin are:

Egg Lecithin, Lécithine, Lécithine, Lécithine de Graine de Soya, Lécithine de Soya, Lecitina, Ovolecithin, Ovolécithine, Phospholipide de Soja, Phospholipide de Soya, Phospholipides de Soya, Soy Lecithin, Soy Phospholipid, Soy Phospholipids, Soya Bean Lecithin, Soya Lecithin, Soybean Lecithin, Vegilecithin, Vitellin, Vitelline.

If you look on government and manufacturer web resources, you be reassured and told that adding these soy products to the food supply in the 1980's was NO BIG DEAL. Just eat your chemicals and do not worry.

As far as a "regular" amount of soy as part of your healthy diet, soy foods might have a place if you like it. Ferment soy, such as miso is supposed to have reduced levels of estrogen in the processing, but I am not too sure about that.

Please tell me what you think of soy and soy products in the comments below.

  • Do you eat them?
  • Do you avoid them?
  • Have you ever heard of this issue before?

I really want to hear from you!

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi Sharon. I'm completely with you on this one. Soy is probably not so much a problem in the pre-processed food days... as people were getting soy only through soy sauce and even in Asia where they eat a lot of it, there was a balance with the other foods that they ate. Now soy products are in 90% of our food as ingredients, it is undoubtedly having an effect.

I've been a life long vegitiarian, which means my soy intake has been even higher eating soy meat alternatives.... and yes you've guessed it... I have man boobs. They're small and I don't need a bra 😂 but it's certainly noticeable .

To be honest, it's the last problem on my mind with the battles I face with SIBO but I should be cutting all soy out with this dietary change I'm implementing soon anyway so we'll see how it effects things.

I also love to swim and dream of the day I can go the pool without my moobs and SIBO bloat weighing me down.

Aw! Thank you so much for this comment @raj808. At least you are not alone in this problem. But as you say - and I did not mention - those who are vegetarian and vegan are also consuming a lot of soy. And in today's food supply, so much of that is garbage. It's one thing to get "healthy soy" and prepare it well. It's another to eat the pre-processed fake meat - and who knows about the TVP.

Soy came on as a HUGE fad in the 1970's. All of the sudden it was everywhere. There were drinks and yogurt and all other soy junk on the shelves. My mom was a stay at home housewife who cooked healthy food and would have none of it. She did not like soy anything and I was lucky to take on her prejudice. All that estrogen is good for no one.

I'm so glad to hear from you. You have been on my mind. I know you can overcome your SIBO - or at least improve. I hope I will be able to help.

Hang in there and let's be sure to stay in touch.

Sorry I didn't comment on that post you pointed me too a few days ago @fitinfunfood. Honestly, the list of foods I can or can't have is insane and it is extremely complex. As I have done more research and joined SIBO groups on facebook, I can see that there are many different ways to go and some people have success with one protocol where others don't. It is just a case of trial and error.

I am going to have to rely on myself for this one, as a huge amount of what I'm going to be doing over the next 6 months is trial and error experimenting. Thanks for your advice though and the one thing I have taken from your blogs so far that is 100% applicable in what I need to do is to cut out processed foods.

I shall be keeping an eye on them for sure. Much love 🙂 🥕 🥗

I have never really thought about this issue, but it does make a lot of sense. I don't eat soy on purpose but I don't avoid it. I remember when it was the next big thing. I am a chick so I like my boobs but I do wonder if soy is good for you at all?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53