My Daughter is a better Animator than me and I couldn't be prouder | Grow Fonder Animation Meme | DTube @filmtechreviews

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Disclaimer: The video above is made by my daughter who is 11. Any steem earned on this post will go to her for the effort she has put into such a great animated music video.

As a father of four kids it was inevitable to have one child who would have similar interests to me. My 11 year old daughter Poppy loves animations and art more than I think I did at her age. When I was a kid I loved cartoons but it wasn't something that I ever thought could make me a living. It wasn't a career path my parents encouraged for me. As a kid I was always told art is good but you need something to fall back on and being told this in some way killed off a bit of my passion.

It wasn't until I was in my late 20's that I realised that actually in this world of online video that I could make a living from animation and filmmaking. Yeah a lot of it is cookie cutter corporate work but as artists we can still try and inject our creativity into a project as far as a client will allow us.

This is why when my daughter talks about being an animator for cartoon network when she's older I encourage her and help her in anyway I can.

That being said does she still need a backup plan once she is older? My view on it is no, rather than a backup plan have a support plan. Take on additional subjects if you have to that would support your passion such as marketing or business management or architecture, design and technology. These are all subjects that can support your creativity in a profitable way.

The truth of it is the above video was made by an 11-year-old who I know will be a much better animator than me and I couldn't be prouder.

music by POGO:

Sort:  

And so you should be proud.that was brilliant.i couldnt do a better job and im 45.hope she keeps going.its so important for children to have some good interests other than social media,to keep in touch with the finer things in life.

Thanks for the kind comment and you are right too many kids are obsessed with their mobile phones now hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58