How I manage to stay motivated to work out

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Many people make plans to get fit or work out (mostly as part of a New year resolution), yet fail to follow through and end up quitting all together. I think I know why in most cases, and wanted to share what works for me. Hopefully it can help anyone who lacks motivation these days =)

How do you manage to stay motivated?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

What? You hate running? :D That was surprising for me :) I love running. But I am not talking about running laps on a stadium or - even worse - on the treadmill. I am talking about running in nature - in a forest, jungle, on the beach or in (empty) park. Basically just me and nature, no other people. I love it. Especially when it is raining. I am weird and I know it :D

But yeah, absolutely agree on the first point - find pleasure in your workout. I mean there are so many people who actually hate their excercise (whatever it is). It is ridiculous. Of course they cannot succeed in something they hate.

Hey Peter yeah I do ahahha I think I got traumatized in highschool when they made us run lapses every week, even in the winter. Back then I suffered from asthma and always had asthma attacks when I ran in the cold.... now I don’t have that anymore but I just get bored after 5 minutes 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh wow, that is why... makes sense now. Btw I also have asthma, but only in my homeland and only in summer (it is somehow related to my summer allergies I think). When I live by the sea, I don´t suffer from anything (well, except for homesick :D)

But have you really tried to give running a second chance? Running in the forest is just so relaxing for me - both physically and mentally :)

yes I did run by the beach a few times, before we had BJJ here and before we had a gym, but I still had to force myself. I also did yoga back then (which I also don't like, although I know it's very good for you LOL)

I don't like running either
Which is strange but I was part of the athletic team in school
Actually your first point made me realise I know what I like doing, I just need to get myself into it
All three points are on point :)

Thanks @kaerpediem =) I think running is boring because it's so monotonous, but some people (like marathon runners) really get this kick out of it...oh well, to each their own LOL. I'm glad you know what you like doing! I hope you'll do it =) Thanks for stopping by!

Great points Eve! I especially agree with finding something you enjoy and surrounding yourself with others who have similar goals. You are definitely more likely to hit your own goals when you have that support and don't hate your physical activities of choice. I do tend to find some extra motivation when I make sure to post at least once a week. That seems to especially help with my running motivation (yep, I DO enjoy running, haha). Knowing I have a bit of a crew on here keeps me accountable even more so than I would be just to myself. Keep it up fit mama!

Oh yes posting about it also helps, definitely!!! Jealous of you runners btw I wish I enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I also hate running probably just as much as you. You're not alone.

LOL thanks @steemmatt =) what do you like to do?

I really don't do much cardio as a workout. I do a great deal of walking though. The only way I trick myself to do cardio is with sports like tennis or basketball. I use a boxing speed bag, battle ropes, the rowing machine or a rope pull machine at the gym for some kind of cardio.

The main sport I play is baseball, so I get a decent amount of running in at my games in the spring/summer, but it doesn't feel like exercise to me.

ah that's great! Exactly my point, when it doesn't feel like exercise, that's when it-s most efficient =)

Does reading count as exercise, I am working out my eyes :P

LOL technically your working out your brain too, so 2 for 1 =)

Hahaha - so this was 30 minutes ago, did you go train? :D

Ahahha yesterday I filmed it and I just stretched but today I did a good workout 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Stretching counts :’)

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks mamacita!!!!! =)

What a great piece of sharing. I absolutely appreciate your motivation for woring out. It seems like I learned a lot from it. Btw, I just kinda find it weird when you say you hate running haha. Btw, each one has their own ways of staying in shape !!!

You got a 37.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf of Natural Medicine. Love your work!

Oh, and we'd love it so much if you could nominate us here for the chance of a delegation from the generous @theycallmedan - it'd really help this little community support natural healing wisdoms on Steemit! Kisses and hugs and all things nice! We are also voting for @homesteaderscoop!

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment in natural ways, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd so love to have you.

My Post 12.jpg
20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Goods, helps a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94