You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are STEEM users too Inward looking? Look outside and double your traffic.

in #dtube6 years ago

I’ve been working with a few people that are just sharing their content here on this platform. They have websites or use another platform like minds, they use YouTube, and they steam over on twitch. They have what I don’t have and that is reach to people not on this platform. Most of them are more than happy to include their Steemit profile link in these places once they learn Steem is legit and see some results on this platform like engagement. Sometimes you just got reach out to these people and have a chat invite them into a discord. Let them see what community is about.

Gaming its rather easy for people to understanding writing game reviews and making something for that. Without having to say the scary word “cryptocurrency” people can just join my gaming community and OMG you guys have some amazing content in this discord. What is Steemit? Ah another one!

Even better I will at times run into people who are working in the gaming industry and are just testing Steemit out. I invest some time, I answer some questions. It’s those people with their new found knowledge that will go out and reach more then I will on my own.

Another guy yesterday after I went over our process of authenticity of ownership when it comes to finding content and trying to determine if that user is on Steemit or if someone just is using that brands name and copy/pasting/stealing the content to post to here. Said he felt like a leech for not doing more in our community. I told him our gaming community cared more about the content and really anything anyone can do we are just thankful for.

I followed him on twitter and joined his discord he runs for his twitch stream. It has hundred of user online in that discord and a blog channel where he is sharing his Steemit links in. That right there is more reach then I have on my own outside of our bubble. Those people join his discord for him not anything else. Now you have an influencer who testing out the waters of Steem.

impressions.png

Before going to bed last night I check my twitter and he ended retweeted one of my tweets. It was our Author Showcase and he found a way to help out in a way he can. Now I’ll admit I’m a twitter noob and don’t fully understand the meaning behind 595 impressions. What I can tell you is I doubt I had anything near that on Steemit. That is also a few times greater than my best tweet so far! It also got some link clicks. While I’ve had a twitter account for a while I only now just starting to use it.

I think we all just try our part in what we are best at. On occasion I put some effort into seeking out and trying to do what I can curation wise when it comes to people with a certain outreach I just don’t have. As long as their content still meets the my communities standards. They often time take some more time since they are in fact sharing from other platforms first. Sometimes it works great other times not so much.

They get skipped over a lot since they don’t think someone would steal their content and share it here. So they just never included their Steemit link elsewhere and to be fair people rarely reach out to them in the first place. They also have other sources for creating traffic so they are not always on top of that one comment some random guy on Steemit sent.

I have quite a few failing methods at this time in trying break out of the Steemit bubble and using gaming to do it. Sometimes I just lack someone with leadership skills and time in wanting to take over a gaming division we are trying to get up and running to target a game. Other times it’s just my lack of knowledge and experience in things like social media like twitter. I’ve also failed a few times to talk someone into developing games here or brining over their existing ones as another place to have an audience.

Sort:  

wow what an amazing comment and the work you are doing is second to none. its amazing how much more reach influencers have, and there is a marketing strategy that can be used for influencer marketing. Very oftern you dont even have to go after big influencers, but people with maybe treble the following of your self is enough to gain a lot more followers.

There are some new tools that gamers might be interested in if they are already sharing on other platforms. Take a look at share2steem.io. its a cross posting platform and as far as I know, twitch is one of the platforms that users can cross post from.

Its hard to break out of the steemit bubble but it looks to me like you are doing a great job. My advice is try be consistent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54