Remembering my Childhood Days: Spider Derby

in #dtube6 years ago


Spider derby is one of my childhood memories and it was totally entertaining the way spider fights. It is like a cockfighting but in a different arena. We usually search for spiders at night since they were exposed on their web waiting to catch prey but during the day, their web was cut into single line only and they were hiding. Actually, it is not only children playing this thing but also adults, in fact, they do bets on it as what they did in cockfighting.

Unlike cockfighting, spider derby doesn't need those cockpit arenas and knives. They just need a stick and put two spiders in it and when they meet each other then the fight is on. It is in their instinct to fight any insects on their path.

But for now, since I'm old enough to understand things in nature. I pity those spiders I am playing with before. It is spider's instinct to fight whatever comes on their way esp those insects trapped on their web with the same size or even a little bit larger than them. Below is the video on how the spiders fought:

Sort:  

yes i agree with you because witnessed this in my childhood @elizahfhaye...thanks for uploading this video

Very good posts with beautiful animals. @elizahfhaye
I like this post, hopefully we can help each other my brother ..

I was surprised by this big fight, my favorite part is when they fight hanging in the air, it's amazing how they wind their prey, when I was a child I was afraid of spiders, but now they make me think they entertain and it's exciting

Jajaja extraordinary, sure bets exist for these cases, I imagine that they must have them prepared to fight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44