You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog by the Bay // How Detaching from the Outcome can Help Blossom your Creativity

in #dtube7 years ago

I am so happy to see that I am not the only one living with the fear of the outcome like your friend musician, funny is that i released an album in the past, and did countless of gigs, but i always have that stress. I really learn how to let go of it with steemit every day.
It's all normal for an artist to see these little imperfections in a song especially when it's live, but I think (sometimes) we are the only one that can notice those mistakes, and it's very important to just completely stop caring about the outcome as you just said.

It's a good idea to set yourself an amount of time, and once time's up , you can't touch the song anymore, edit, or even think about it. It's very hard though because there's that thought "What if I could do better in the next version".

So yeah I am with you when you say "Let out what needs to be let out"

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful response. I like your idea about setting a time limit for editing songs... that would be hard to stick to though!

Every time I try to write a song, I end up hitting a wall pretty quickly. I think I need to work on the idea of “just letting things out”. 😊

It's even harder when writing a song, because there's a part of your story on paper, so it's easy to become too subjective.

The wall that you are hitting is good, it means that you are not satisfied with the result and thrive do to better.
I am not saying i have a solution for this, but this is what I do for originals :

I either work bit by bit, once I hit the "brick wall" that you mention , i record the latest "version" of the song on voice not and move on to do something else and will get back to it later.
It allows me not to get too critical, as it often comes from repetition .

The second way is to "go through the brick wall", meaning, that you will need to finish the song by any means even if you are not happy with it. It can be excruciating but quite effective

Thanks for the words of wisdom! I tend to do the first one, where I put it down and walk away for a while. I wonder if busting through the brick wall might not be a bad thing to try though!

Me too I take the dog for a walk and get back to it. I find inspiration such a fragile thing that I don't want to upset the balance :) . Cheers take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31