My first DTube Guitar Tutorial - Blues/Rock Licks in G#

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


What's up, Steemit! Time for my first DTube video today, I would like to show you some cool blues/rock licks. I hope you will find my tutorial useful and that you can build your own licks from it!

Lick 1

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 09.44.04.png

Adding a blue note and a G note here to make it sound more interesting and bluesy. Make sure you get your hammer-ons and pull-offs tight for this one!

Lick 2

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 09.44.50.png

I really like this shape, you can definitely play around it and come up with dozens of cool licks. I mute the first two notes in this lick.

Lick 3

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 09.46.15.png

The blue note gives the lick a character I really dig, again a few tricky hammer-ons and pull-offs!

Lick 4

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 09.58.31.png

This is a variation of the first lick I have ever learned on the electric guitar. I mute all of the notes on the 5th and the 4th strings, really cool lick if you can play it fast!

Lick 5

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 10.00.21.png

I like to slightly bend the last note here, the flat third. A 1/4 tone bend gives it an awesome bluesy character!

That's all for today, guys! Hope you liked my tutorial, come back soon for more. Full Steem On!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great licks. I hope you post videos in standard tuning in the future.

Cheers! Yup, this is probably a good idea. :)

I hope so! My electric guitars have Floyd Rose bridges and would be a royal pain to retune.

Not much of a problem to transpose it though. The shapes I showed will work for blues/rock in A minor on a guitar with regular tuning, no biggie I suppose.

Guitar is my favorite instrument

Nice to hear that, it is definitely mine too. ;)

Awesome licks @earworm, can't wait to see more!

Cheers, mate!

killer man, keep them videos coming.

Thanks, much appreciated.

After watching this video my ears feel​ relaxed haha

Thanks @ramengirl, very nice to hear that. :) Will definitely try to post something more relaxing in the future though haha

Wow !!!
Very nice....
greetings fromBerlin

Thanks! Oh, I love Berlin, one of my fav cities in Europe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57