You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STOP MAKING CONTENT WITH NO VALUE!!!!!

in #dtube5 years ago

Word Up! Like I mentioned in another one of your Dtube videos, I left Steemit over 1.5yrs ago for these exact reasons. I stayed very active for about the first month and then quickly faded away before the end of the 2nd month. It just seemed even back then when cryptos were going hype in the Summer of 2017 that many of the replies to my art and video posts were insincere. Back then in 2017 upvotes and Steem were worth a lot I'd usually make anywhere between $25 - $50 per post with a few that were $200+. Considering I was getting that kind of reaction and payout in my first month was very exciting to say the least. However it just felt fake and I really questioned whether people were even looking or appreciating my creative content. I mean I could see all these upvotes and the cash value but I could see that it was only getting a fraction of the views. I don't know how Steemit shows views now but I think they had a view counter back then or it was some other 3rd party site/app.

Well as a creative acknowledgement and appreciation is the of the highest value. Actually not just creatives but ever human being this is true. It's probably why they say "money can't buy happiness." Well I can't speak for everyone but that was the case for me and I'd like to think so for most of humanity.

So after 6 weeks on Steemit never came back, except for one post for more then 1.5 yrs. Even when cryptos were going hype as fuck at the end of 2017 when Steemit was well over $7+ I never felt the urge to come back. I think a lot of it has to do with my depression so I can't really blame that on the Steemit community, but it did seem to be mostly insincere post engagement on Steemit. However it really proved something to me that I value genuine engagement over monetary value. I mean even when I left for that amount of time only one follower ever left a comment asking how and where I had been for so long. Even then unlike social platforms like Facebook and Instagram where u get no monetary incentive at least u have people that appreciate and care for you. These platforms also have such slick GUI that makes it easy for a fan, friend or love one to connect with you. Tbh it's all these reasons above and your rant that I think Steemit isn't working.

Sort:  

I felt the same way! In the beginning I was making content for money, and then when I started making big amounts of money for my garbage content. I felt awkward and weird, So I decided to change my workflow and put more effort in my videos and felt a bit better.
But I always felt weird about Steemit, with all the people hunting for coins. It seems like nobody on this platform cared about the content of whoever. Its all about the coins..

Until this day I honestly can't find a steemian that I really like. I mean there are some cool people here, but it's not like I am a big fan of someone here..

I hope I'll be able to inspire people to create VALUE CONTENT, rather than chasing coins and predicting prices of whatever. Money is important but this platform won't survive if all we'll think about is money..

Posted using Partiko Android

Well you've inspired me so we'll see how it pans out for me. I'm going to upload today hopefully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50