Upcomming DS-Tech Video Projects: Tutorials, Some more Hardware, and more VM's!

in #dtube5 years ago

Throwing Some Future Plans Out, Would Love to See the Interest for Prioritizing.

First thing: A Video about Decentralized Youtube Alternatives:

Before I even knew of Steemit and D.tube, I was testing the Inter-Planetary File System: IPFS on my Linux server. I have plans to do a video that explains why Youtube monopolizes online video distribution, and the platforms that are fighting back with smart work around solutions like IPFS/Blockchain/Steem. Also I will go into Bitchute and LBRY and other platforms that I am considering hosting my videos on.

A question to the Steemit/D.tube community (specifically developers who may be familiar with the issue):

I've been promoting D.tube/Steemit with friends, and the first question that comes up is the website's search, which has been broken a long time now as I understand it? I have the D.tube(Under Development) Android app on my phone, and the search works there, with caveats: If I search for ds tech I get only my most popular video, if I search for dstech I also find two more, but they aren't among my most popular.
Screenshot_20190422-233253.png
Screenshot_20190425-022609.png
I've browsed the Github pages for Steemit and D.tube, and I see that the Steemit blockchain core is written in C++, and the API and apps, including the D.tube front-end, are written in Javascript apparently using a node-js base. I'm thinking the D.tube developers are having difficulty with C++ bindings to Javascript, because the Android app is written in Java, which is a lower-level language that binds directly to C from what I understand, so C++ isn't too far removed from standard C. I'm asking the community for an understanding of this issue. Why does the search work on an Android app and not in the web browser?

Future Video Plans:

  • Reviewing AverMedia Live Gamer Portable2 on Linux/OBS

  • How to Install the VMware ESXi Hypervisor:

I've been using VMware Workstation Pro for a long time, first on Windows and later on Linux. But a couple years ago I started using the VMware ESXi Type 1 bare-metal hypervisor as a server for all my VM needs. However, the server I was running it on has since stopped working, so I will be documenting when I install it on new hardware.

  • How to install Steemit's distributed storage system: Inter-Planetary File System(IPFS) on your Linux server.

  • Virtualization Technologies And Why I use VMware.

I'll discuss the differences between hosted vs. bare-metal hypervisors, and the available products: VMware Workstation vs. Virtualbox. VMware ESXi vs. Hyper-V vs. Xen. And Container virtuallization: BSD Jails, Chroots, Docker, Linux Containers(LxC), and LXD from Canonical.

  • Testing other operating systems: Haiku OS, React OS, Free BSD's, Illmumos/OpenIndiana/SmartOS, Plan 9, and Inferno.

  • Setting up a typical Linux web server with Apache, a database server, and a PHP engine:

  • LAMP server installation and concepts, and some of the awesome things you can do with them:

    • Wordpress: The #1 Content Management System used by Fortune 500 companies.

    • Ghost: An excellent and simple blogging platform for those who just want a simple blogging site.

    • Ampache: The Apache-based project that allows you to share your entire music collection online, even host your own radio station!

Would Appreciate ANY feedback and opinions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86