#INTRODUCEYOURSELF /// LIVE DRUM + MODULAR SYNTH ORIGINAL MUSIC and DTUBE DEBUT by @drumoperator

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


/// BEGIN TRANSMISSION ///

Steemians of the future past, the first time-travelin’, eurorack synthesizin’, limosine ridin’, jet flyin’, cybernetic son of a gun has arrived safely from a future where Steem has crested $1000 USD and requests permission to #introduceyoutself via this original piece of modular synth and drumming goodness.

In a bid to become Steem’s first live-drum EDM superstar, percussively-augmented future cyborg @DRUMOPERATOR is here to create synthesizer, drum and recording production videos exclusively on the DTube and Steemit platforms. If he had emotions, they would be soaring with enthusiasm after two weeks of integration into the 2018 Steam community and substantial good advice and encouragement.

@DRUMOPERATOR has already detected numerous deviations from the established 2028 time stream. According to historical records, the run to $8.57 USD was scheduled for January 13, 2018. This deviation caused even otherwise emotionless @DRUMOPERATOR to develop severe cybernetic-fomo-syndrome as continues to wait for additional fiat to clear. Fortunately, he is hard-coded for durability in the face of crippling opportunity loss.

In another deviation from the established timeline, this first video was supposed to consume a maximum of 5-10 hours of labor, especially considering it consists of only two unedited live passes, once capturing the modular performance from a few angles and once again on the drums. Acclimation to 2018’s primitive video editing tools (Final Cut Pro X) proved exponentially more difficult than in simulations. Investing 25 hours on the first video for the platform was specifically recommended against, but @DRUMOPERATOR proved highly particular about all facets. Peculiar indeed.

/// PATCH NOTES ///

Although it seems like there is a lot going on here, the entire patch breaks down to about seven voices, sequenced and triggered live on the Push 2 controlling Ableton. Although it would be amazing to sequence entire pieces using strictly hardware, the dual compositional/DAW nature of Ableton makes it indispensable in modular world. One “side” of Ableton is letting me launch sequences of midi out to the modular via the Expert Sleepers FH-1 modules while the DAW backend captures the live audio stem of each element for mixing later.

A few modules are doing especially good work in this patch. The Make Noise Telharmonic can be quite unruly and experimental but is responsible for the clear bell-like tones from the bridge on … by mixing the two tonal outputs with the noise output and setting it up monophonically we can tame this polyphonic beast into something more easily performed on and retain all the chimney FM goodness that comes with additive synthesis. The noise output makes the resulting sound particularly Battles-esque, which is a good thing 100 percent of the time by advanced cyborgian estimation.

P1000376

The Telharmonic is also the recipient of some subtle modulation from the Make Noise Maths. When first researching eurorack, the muffwiggler community (definitive, number one source for the eurorack hive mind) universally agreed this is an essential modulation/envelope tool and it would be difficult to disagree. Here it is receiving a slightly stuttered clock from the Maleko Varigate-8 and is generating two different sympathetic envelopes. One of the go-to eurorack tricks for creating complexity without melodic density is applying the same rhythmically triggered envelope to multiple sources. In this case, the Maths is feeding both the centroid control on the telharmonic and the barrel control on the Mangrove (by eurorack module manufacturing royalty Whimsical Raps) … resulting in subtle sympathetic movement to both the Mangrove’s low drone (prominent at the top of the video) and the (for lack of a better adjective) relative amount of clangy “bell-ness” in the Telharmonic. Spreading the same modulation out to different voices is part of what makes eurorack such an inspirational playground, as many of the sounds you discover in this way have little to no bearing on what you were setting out to accomplish. For that matter, it sometimes encourages you to -not- set out to accomplish anything besides exploring what a single modulation is capable of across your patch.

P1000369
upload pictures online privately

This was also the trial run for the bank of three Cwejman modules, specifically his VCO, ADSR and VCA. To those not of a eurorack persuasion, these are handmade modules made by one mysterious Polish savant, Wowa Cwejman and they are the intersection of all of the most popular synth bywords: precise, rich, analog. Waiting list of over a year. Impossible hype to live up to. Exceeded expectations.

/// STAY TUNED TO @DRUMOPERATOR FOR MORE MODULAR CONTENT, STUDIO TUTORIALS, GUITAR PEDAL DEMOS AND LIVE DRUM/EURORACK PERFORMANCES ///


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hahaha ahhh stupid stupid me.... when you were saying modular synths I was assuming you meant virtual modular synths, but then when you said you were using ableton for the midi programming I was like, wait, whaaat? Then you come and drop this absolutely LEGENDARY introduceyourself post and freaking floor me. Bro...BRO!

I used to use hardware way back when, I even had some ancient midi brain thing that I could never get to work properly... Ah man, this is too epic. TOO EPIC.

Anyone can see the dedication and effort you put into your very first addition to the blockchain, I wish you a long and prosperous journey @drumoperator

Hahahaha! Thank you my man. Supremely kind words. If you have ever considered getting back into the hardware game, it is the greatest single time to be alive. The Roland 3/4 size boutique series alone has gotta be some of the most efficient money to be spent, ever, forever in world. Have had the juno reissue in and out of the studio with bands for a year now, bought one for Maserati and am wayyyy hoping the rumors that the sh101 is next are true. .

I've actually been following you for a second .... I toured Japan ages ago and have never gotten the bug to go back out of my system. Love your content ... super dug the timely bot debate as that was something I woke up this morning stewing over.

101 has been done! You’re after the SH01a there.

I wish I’d got the JU06 when it was out. No chance at having that at a normal price now.

Whut. How did that slip past me.

I’ve got a whole three voice intellijel chain that is supremely sh101-y....but....you know....it wouldn’t be -impossible- to justify is all I’m saying.

This is four voice, you get to use a whole extra finger!

Dude. "midi brain thing". Elaborate?

Welcome to steemit, this is a great platform to start with and the community is awesome in here, provided you contribute good content and help steemit grow,but as of now when you start as a newbie here you are called a minnow and we have a very hard time making followers and getting upvotes at start so help each other out ! I am Dave , a fellow minnow,follow me and lets keep fosted.

Thanks Dave! Happy to follow! Thanks for checking it out! I'm trying to contain my enthusiasm for seeing an actual post of my own go live. And failing.

WHOA! a huge welcome man... you are very talented, we can use your type here haha... welcome to the matrix

Awwww man. That is mighty nice of yah.

Ha nice! Hopefully @welcoming picks this up. I’m certainly going to do a round up of the new people I’ve found on the platform soon if not.

Oh killer! I also recently discovered @curie and @minnowsupport. Going to spend the day networking and getting as many eyes on it as possible. I could honestly care less about the financial element vs the one-introductory-bullet-to-build-a-fanbase factor. I'm just so insanely pumped to have gotten it done and online as now I can start to make more reasonable time-commitment videos about specific modules, pedals and production techniques between big live drum shoot content. Thanks for your support dude!!

You seem to be coming at it from my angle. I just wanted a place to output some casual musings, but after seeing that the electronicmusic side of things was pretty unfocused, I’ve been trying to build it. As I keep building my power, I’m having more of an impact ... although I’ve spanked it over the last few days!

Next aim is to create a community when Steem rolls out the functionality. I can see lots of general and wide ranging music ones being created, but I feel something niche would grow really well.

Let me know how I can help build the electronic music community here, @fourfourfun. I intend to be very active on this platform and that topic is pretty much the only value I have to offer this community hahahaha.

Steemit #electronicmusic 4 life, starting now.

Works for me

I'm certainly going to be all over it as soon as they roll out the update. I read a technical doc on it but there isn't anything that really describes what shape it is going to look like.

Anyway, I think I need to go away and write for a bit, I've annihilated my voting power this week! :D

SAME.

Great stuff, modulars are extremely expensive gear and extremely fun to experiment on :)

Im not saying I could own a fleet of cars and houses had I re-invested in crypto instead of my modular rig, but I'm also not saying I couldn't.

That being said, after a twelve hour day in the studio recording bands, all the crypto in the world could never provide me the brain release my modular does. It speaks to all aspects of the battle between the technical and the artistic forces that rule my brain.

Any particular pieces of modular you would recommend for beginners? I've had my eye on much of the Mutable Instruments stuff as the Max For Live version of Clouds has seen a lot of use from me recently.

I can recommend the makenoise maths, clouds and the maleko voltage block/varigate combo with complete and total conviction. There is a reason these are in everybody's rigs and even with piles of modular they get first call all the time because of their ease of use and versatility.

that is SICK! I love the song. Can't wait to hear more!

Thank you thank you!

yooooooooooooooooooooo................firrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was at the very least warm to the touch.

Let's build fam. This is siiiick!

Thanks man. I genuinely could not be more excited to be here and collaborate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48