DTube REAL — Vlog #6 | DTube vs. Facebook [DTube: an Egalitarian Landscape Where Content Gets Rewarded]

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

daily_real_cover6.jpg

I've been on Facebook for years, and I've built up 320,000 likes on my fan page. I've had something like 1/2 billion views on my profiles across all of social media. But what do I have from it?

The amazing thing about DTube and Steemit is that THIS PLACE follows two concepts that I love:

  1. Kevin Kline's article from a decade ago about 1000 Super Fans. You don't need a million fans. You need 1000 die-hard fans, who really like what you do.
  2. Rewarding Content Creators. Beethoven found ways of making money, and so did the great writers of the past. How do we make a living today as creatives? This is a new world, and it has become possible in this new ecosystem.

Over twenty years as an artist, and this is one of the first places where I see other creators really being rewarded. This is a fresh new world. Let's keep making this community the best in the world!

Catch you on the flip side.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am thrilled to see more "large following" VLOGgers make it to @dtube. Welcome to the platform, I hope you are able to bring many of your legion to steemit.

As for the egalitarianism of STEEMit I am not sure. We have some dictators over here that wear whale costumes and wield their Steem Power like a cruz missile taking out minnow accounts that have views they don't like. But to be fair. Youtube and zuckerburg as you mentioned make things "not so fair" on their dictatorial platforms.

So you still have to tread lightly on those accounts. The longer you are here the more acquainted you will become with these whales. They make themselves known.

Oh by the way... I thought your microphone was an IV bottle at first.
Chuckles.

I found that you had posted this on @jerrybanfiled's discord channel which shows you have insight for the way things work best over here already.

Hey @libertyranger,

Great to read your comments here! I'm not really a vlogger, but I've dabbled a bit in that. I'm more of a musician who is seeing an incredible "real" audience here! I'm working on bringing people onboard, but it's not easy to see.

Yeah, I have seen some untoward activity here, but I'm sure you've seen much more! And yes, the "not so fair" on these monolithic corporate "social" platforms is starting to show its ugly head.

I'll be interested to see what the whales are doing, and posting. I appreciate that. I find it all fascinating at the moment!

Haha! That's awesome re: the mic. It's actually a Blue Yeti mic with some metallic gold tape on it. I can totally see the resemblance to an IV bag, though. That's funny.

Yeah, I post these views in different places. I am amused by his Discord, and his announcement that he would be resteeming certain posts. Interesting.

Cheers, and thanks so much for the long comment! That's the best thing about Steemit.

I'm not sure if it will be egalitarian, but I do think the playing field will become more democratized. More importantly, talent will rise to the top and the little man will have a shot. MORE importantly artist will get rewarded for their work, rather than useless unskilled middle-men taking advantage of their talents by levearging their resources, position, and capital.

Keep dtubing my man!

Yeah, man @elima. It's hard to know!

I do agree that talent can rise to the top. Especially if non-refined content is rewarded (which it is now).

And absolutely re: the artists!

Cheers, buddy. How's the weather out east? :)

I think you’re a huge enrichment for DTube, DLive and DSound. These platforms are just made for people like you!

Thank you, my friend @liveyourdream! I really appreciate that ;)

You're really helping me to understand this place @drkent. For years now I've felt icky visiting Facebook, but I kept on doing it. I don't get that same feeling here, and I'm inspired to create much more thoughtful content, which is helping me in many ways. What I miss though is apps. I'm using esteem on my iPhone and it's really buggy. I suppose that'll all come in time though, right?

I enjoy following your channel here and listening to you. Hey, maybe we could collaborate on a tune sometime!

Hey @camuel, I'd be happy to collaborate sometime! Drop me a note in Discord / you can find me @drkent / on a few of the different Discord groups. Let me know if that doesn't work!

I miss apps, too ... I'm sure that will be coming. It's very tricky, I think, given the blockchain and so on!

Thanks for the note, as always!

Thanks for the post. I am very fortunate for this platform . You're right, we don't need a million followers to get rewarded handsomely. I think for this reason people will adopt this platform once the word gets out. I've only made $2.00 since I joined this month, but that's $2.00 more than I would have gotten from YouTube!

Hi @mynsf, you are absolutely right! And with some sweat, you'll see yourself making more connections and Steem dollars soon!

You're cover art cracks me up! Lol

Haha! In what way? The DTube on my forehead? :)

I love that our interaction on whatever level, has true value beyond the yellow thumbs up button. That together, we can function as a community in the truest sense with some common interests as well as celebrate our differences and uniqueness. I'm a fan of what this place has to offer and I look forward to seeing how it emerges over time.

That's so true @captainbob. I agree with 100% of what you wrote. Cheers, my friend!

The instant gratification knowing your friends can give you money for your content is awesome. So glad you're on here, Kent!

No doubt, @kevinli! Right back at you :)

Hopefully also a lot of fans of d steemit and also we can take wisdom I am happy to be able to share with you @drkent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30