You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shhh - Sound to Put a Baby to Sleep (8 Hours Female Voice)

in #dtube5 years ago

@justineh thank you for taking the time to explain this to me.

I'll take that into consideration for the future, even though I'm on the edge right now if I should continue here or not.

It's hard not to take things personally, when I lost more than 100$ (some of wich were actually "organic" votes) over a "new principle" ment to improve the platform.

I really appreciate what you're saying, but consider the whole reaction an overkill.
And if this is how the community reacts to mistakes, than I'm sure there are friendlier communities elsewhere

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I did not intend for the post to be made invisible but it is incredibly frustrating to see this after so much effort has been spent to combat bid bot abuse on the platform.

I have been fighting bid bot abuse long before @justineh / @llfarms had been on the platform so maybe I'm a little salty and weary to see the same thing again and literally as the first post I find reviewing trending.

Maybe I think it is prudent to make examples because then we will see it less. I'm sorry it had to be your post but you placed it in a situation to be scrutinized.

How easy is it for an a user to move promotion abuse to an alt account? The decisive loss of funds is an effective deterrent so I don't agree with the overkill notion. If anybody else tries it, same should happen irrespective of what we perceived the user to know or not know. Yeah, it sucks when a user doesn't know what they are doing but feeling bad doesn't put the rewards on content that rates.

If we are going to promote to Trending, care must be taken so content reflects.

It's overkill. People are leaving. Steemit is dying. It's become a hostile environment. Exchanges will start delist this crypto. Poloniex just send out a mail that Steem will no longer be traded on their exchange. More will follow.
It's funny that so many whales go after 'bidbot abuse' which is mostly used by smaller accounts, while they keep upvoting crappy blog posts in their small circle of whale accounts to payouts that are multiply times bigger than sometimes good content of plankton/minnows that have used bidbots.
No one is going after whales, because you know, it's their platform. That much is clear.

I get your point, but maybe you're focusing your energy in the wrong direction.

Instead of taking out the little ones, why don't you take on the big ones, you know, the ones selling the votes?

You say you've been fighting "the abuse" for a long time, well obviously this method does not work: the bid bods/vote sellers are still there (and thriving) + the community is getting devided (judging by the comments).

Have you considered changing your methods? Because I fail to see how your actions help anyone...

Posted using Partiko Android

I removed my downvote as I agree this response was overkill and a simple explanation could have been done instead of some egotistical comments that don’t set a great example.

Mistakes happen, we live and learn. Don’t let some downvotes deter you from being a part of a pretty great community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45