Top 3 Complaints From New Users

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Good morning, ( Afternoon now actually- I tried uploading earlier but got the error, used Brave Browser and got it in just now)

Happy Tuesday, I actually recorded this vlog yesterday evening though. I didn't have the time to post it up as papa life duties called, I was drained as shvt after work, the long ass commute does not help ( 1 hr 20 mins). I went to bed around 9:30 and woke up around midnight to get some orders ready for my Jamaican goods shop here in Japan (irie876.com) but I didn't bother to post the vlog then. Here I am complaining, the topic of this vlog LOL. Well I am not actually complaining, I am just stating facts.

In to the meat of the matter, I have made a couple people join steem and here are the complaints I hear the most and interestingly my brother who I made join recently had the same complaints.

  1. The DApps they want to use aren't user friendly ( especially dtube )
  2. The keys are confusing.
  3. Everyone on steem talks about steem too much.

These are all valid complaints/facts I have heard many times and you probably have too.
Just bringing these complaints/facts to your consciousness so you are more aware of how you deal with new users, and your actions as a content creator.

PS: Earnings would be on the top priority for many users, but this is besides the earnings.

If you are a new user I strongly recommend taking the time to go through these two websites.

SOBlogo003 (1).png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I find DTube interesting... and I was using it as a consumer. But I'm afraid something changed and in the last month or so, everytime I try to watch a Dtube video, it freezes and won't load properly.

If I need to wait 30 seconds to watch a 3 second extract and then repeat the process, I end up giving up altogether. 😕

Same damn problem I have too. I have been watching less videos recently because of that. Dtube needs to get this right as a video platform is crucial. If they don't get this right, EOS will and that will take a huge chunk of vloggers and future vloggers away from steem. It needs to work like a centralized platform but be decentralized the way I see it. The masses don't care about blockchain and decentralization and if that is what the goal is, dtube needs to come correct. The other blocks are watching .

So, I am not alone... I was feeling quite frustrated. Nice to see I'm not the only one experiencing problems.

We should find a way to make it easier for newbies to find their respective niche.

Like a list of all photo contests active on Steem
Are food contests
Writing contests
Homesteading, green and healthy lifestyle..etc etc.

I will to try to contribute myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

@jeanlucsr @dmilliz ~ For the past several months, @heyhaveyamet and the related project called SteemTerminal have been striving to provide some basic education to new Steemians and help them find communities where they will thrive. We explain keys, vesting, delegation, dapps, etc. and routinely help users find contests where they can earn Steem. If you are interested in participating, or wish to refer any new Steemians, here is the link to our Discord server:

SteemTerminalBanner3.jpg

@thekittygirl thanks for this info. I have heard of steemTerminal but I shall be more conscious of it and help spread the word. The more info and people we have looking out for new users the better. Thanks for the informative comment. Much appreciated :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You know there use to be a guy that did that I don’t see it anymore though . It is a good idea as their are many contest going around and it is valuable info that you seem to know a lot about. I’m gonna edit this post and add in the steemsaavy.com and steemonboarding link. And think how I can help new users. Good thinking dude.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy to help 👍. Knew about steemsavvy, didnt know about steemonboarding. Will have a look myself.

You're definitely on point, the truth is that these complaints were exactly what kept me away from dtube after 8 months of it's inception and it only took @snook to get me really kicking on dtube, I think like a set of rules on how to do these things should be set somewhere.

Sane here, I tried a couple times when it just came out and just forgot about it, but I really was morning into vlogging , so I was posting uk video on YouTube and Facebook instead. Glad I friend again after a couple months. They are some good resources out there like steemsavvy.com & steemonboarding.com but I can imagine only half the people I send there actually go through the videos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Entertainment.
People want entertainment. You are very correct! there are very few video's or posts I read that have to do with crypto or Steem.

DTube needs instructions on a side panel for new users and for people that don't always use it. That cannot be that hard to add.

The Thumbnail size that works perfectly is 800 Pixels wide by 450 pixels tall.

the problem is if you make a 'how to' post it will get lost fast...... to it needs to be in the site.

Great video!!!

Indeed I couldn’t agree more , people want entertainment. The masses coming won’t want to see the endless crypto steem post here.

Easily done, could even be a pop. Hopefully these issues are a part of dtubes upcoming update.

The thumbnail is the major thing that stopped me in the last and is stopping many.

Right, lost in the sea buried, and 7 days earning makes sure of that 😬

Thank you snook

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey! It's Ren with @heyhaveyamet, I'm just in my normal account but I wanted to say thinking for speaking up! New people have it hard when they first come to steem, but there are some of us making a difference. I know we at @steemterminal and @heyhaveyamet will do our best to help server the new users better in these places you talk about. Please send them our way if they ever need help.
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38