You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Current DTube Issues As I See Them

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Here's my recommendation regarding the video compression and playback issues you mentioned, encode at a lower bit rate. And trust me, I'm having the same issues you are, and I agree its totally annoying!

I typically encode at 7Mb/s or higher for my Youtube videos, but it appears that DTube cannot handle high file sizes and the high bit rate encoding that follows. I'm going to drop my bit rates in OBS to like 4.5 MB/s, this will make the videos stream faster back to users because there's less data to transmit.

Another thing to note, don't use Windows 10 DVR to record videos. If you must use Windows DVR to record your game play, then consider re-recording the video at a lower bit rate in OBS afterwards, or you can always use handbrake as you mentioned. Either way, Windows DVR records at like 14Mb/s! It creates humongous file sizes.

You're right, the indexing of videos is totally broken at this point! The platform only indexed 1 of the 4 videos I posted so far. While I do like the fact our videos get published to Steemit in a blog post as well, of course we would want people to be able to find our content on DTube with a simple search.

Anyway, I followed you as well and will be checking out your videos :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the info. I see you found my article on getting playback better too.
Thanks. I will keep posting as I figure the platform a bit more.

I'm glad we're all all talking about this stuff and finding solutions, its going to help others who're just getting started here like we are :)

Exactly. Wish I could guide more people to these type of posts so that more take notice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64