Could DTube Overtake YouTube?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

So, I was going through some of the posts where vloggers are comparing the video-streaming Giant Youtube with DTube.

They are talking about shifting from YouTube to DTube completely.

So that got me wondering "Can DTube take over YouTube completely?"

Untitled Design.jpg

But after searching the web a bit (and running some comparisons - myself), I can clearly say that - "That ain't gonna happen soon".

The reason for this is, of course, the superior streaming technology that YouTube possesses.

(Cause, after all, it's a multi-billion dollar giant!)

DTube might be the Go-To destination for video creators now, but, as a viewer, I didn't like it...

Now I know, it's a new company launched just 2 years ago, but if I'm a viewer coming straight to DTube to watch a video, it's my experience with the streaming that's gonna matter. I wouldn't just start watching videos here because I know it will get better.

Instead, I'll watch videos on what is already better. In this case, which is - YouTube.

There are certain points that I'd like to highlight that gives Youtube the better edge at this competition:

#1 Video Player: The video player on DTube is not very good as compared to Youtube. I mean both of them play the video basically, but one of them load videos better than the other.

Plus, the Youtube player adjusts to data speeds and changes the video quality automatically depending on what the speed can handle. This feature is basically what makes YouTube videos run smoother.

#2 Buffering: This is something that YouTube users faced a lot earlier on when data speeds were slow and the streaming technology was - not so good.

Fast-forward to today, though, YouTube doesn't have this issue very much and I can watch near-HD videos (on my internet connection) without any buffering.

But this problem is still pretty dominant on DTube. I mean, - on the same internet speed - I literally had to wait - like - 20 mins just to watch a 6 min video!!

That is a Far-From-Good user experience.

#3 Less Content: (Again, I know it's a new platform - but hey, a competition is a competition.)

So, what I'm saying is that there is not much content available on DTube.

I mean, if you watch a video on YouTube, there is a huge list of "Related videos" for that video. But DTube doesn't have that.

I literally have had 0 related videos for some videos I've watched.

That tells you (as a viewer) how much content deprived DTube is!

#4 Website Load Speed: The "website speed comparing" sites will tell you different answers, but I had a different experience with the website load speeds on both the sites.

Youtube[homepage], loads way faster than the DTube[homepage] (that's a fact!).

I mean the DTube load time really got me checking my internet connection (twice)!

And that alone can be a reason to turn away viewers.

So with that being said, I hope you get what I was trying to say.

There could be a time in the future where DTube will become a better streaming site and people will prefer it over YouTube.

But sadly, that time is not now and it doesn't seem like it's gonna be anytime soon.

Sort:  

Congratulations @divyaakash! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73