dTube/Steemit: Are parking meter "Robin Hoods" a form of libertarian resistance?

in #dtube6 years ago


This is a funny interview from a few years back, I'd love to know what the Steemit libertarians think about this little strategy..


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is the most New Hampshire thing ever. Can they figure out a way to do it for my student loans?

post is very interesting will i resteem.@davidpakman

Interesting video. You look very different :) I always say meter man, btw😬 We already pay so many taxes, why can’t we just park for free? Isn’t a free land???

It's 'metre', Jankee! I'm okay with charging money for spots, no problem; but the fact is that cities ALWAYS abuse this practice and use as a means of funding. Unacceptable.

Beautiful video , really yo do great job .

I drive forty-fifty minutes to work every day. I use Waze, which alerts me to where the police are positioned on the highway to catch speeders. Depending on the traffic flow and when I have to be at work, I frequently drive over the speed limit. If I was caught each time, I would owe hundreds of dollars and probably would have my licence taken away.

Robin Hood allegedly took from the rich and gave to the poor. I would gladly have someone pay my parking meter when I am in Keene. However, it does not seem like this is an effective method to combat an 'oppressive' government. In fact, these guys are actually paying into the system with coin. Maybe Robin Hood would have removed the parking meters.

That was Cool Hand Luke, different movie.

What we have here's a failure to communicate

Ha! Good one. Sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand.

I find the concept of "meter fairies"/"meter Robin Hoods" fascinating. If I were public service, I could see the lack of revenue to be a disappointment, but at the same time, I can see how it's a small, low cost way to make someone's day better.

It's an interesting dilemma.

I'm more likely to call libertarians foolish or even sociopathic, but I have nothing but respect for those that would practice this... the ones that move to a city to try and establish their eutopian society have my respect too, even if I don't think it'll work; I pray that I'm wrong.

Any kind of non-violent civil disobedience is welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86