Out For My Smoke Break Today I Decided To Quit Smoking Starting Now! - D00k13 Digest #355

in #dtube5 years ago


What up my Steemians, welcome to the @D00k13 Digest, its been nearly a week since I uploaded my last DTube vlog and I have to admit I am kinda missing it. Starting with tomorrow I will be making up for that as I have decided to quit smoking and figure out ways of including that into my daily creations. As always I have lots of ideas but we will only know how I execute them till the time comes, one thing is for certain I have to quit smoking!

Moving forward my plan is to try get ahead of the ball so I can free up some time, simplify things a little and try stay consistent. I want to do 2 videos a day, a morning #seven77 pushups DTube video where I will also update on my quitting smoking progress including feelings and thoughts starting off my day. The evening video will be a blowing Steem video like I had been doing for my twitter live streams except I will not be inhaling, gonna be tough fighting the addiction while still packing the relief around with me. My evening vlog will also touch base on the end of the day thoughts about my quitting smoking progress while also being some sort of dApp promotion. Using a tweet scheduler I will be able to get ahead of the ball on my twitter promotions so now I must go record those videos for tomorrow get them all set on my pc so all I must do is click upload from remote desktop, man I wish the onelove uploader had a scheduler!

Anyways no matter what I do my focus is quitting smoking and my health while also attempting to simplify my consistent 4-5 posts daily and promotion of everything to twitter, do the most I can with the least amount of confusion.

Man do I want to pick up that bong! First night no tokes, definitely need to eat some THC gummies to make due and fall asleep but not until I can get a full day ahead of myself in content uploads!

Thats It, @D00k13 Out


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey D00k13,

Good luck with the quiting. I have some advice which may help. Take any part of it that you think might be useful in your journey m8.

I've been through the giving up cigs thing b4 twice and it is a kicker for sure. Unfortunately, it often is ok for the first 3 days until the last of the chemical starts to leave the blood stream & that's when the real battle begins. Probably about a month to 6 weeks of really difficult cravings before they ease off somewhat.

What got me through was a combination of nicotine patches and daily exercise. The exercise is good for working out the anger and irritabiliy that comes with the cravings. I also found that giving up disturbed my sleep at first, I'd be up from 3am -7am so I used to go to the swimming pool first thing in the morning when it opened at 7am, swim for an hour and then go home for a few hours sleep before college.

I hope some of this is useful. I think the exercise thing is the most important. Psychologically you need to transfer the stress relieving properties that having a smoke can bring. The endorphin rush from exercise can help provide that outlet for some people. It worked for me.

It sounds like you've already got some gr8 ideas channeling the nervous energy that comes when you give up nicotine into hammering the content 🙂

Best of luck with it all m8

Thank you for the encouragement my friend.

Yeah that was exactly the kind of answers I was looking for, the personal experience with it so I have some idea what to expect. Good to know the first three days are the easiest that’s kind of what I thought even though I was told the opposite. I can’t say that I’ve ever really experienced a full on craving like some describe, in an odd way I am looking forward to know what that feeling is like 😅

So far I’m sticking with it but what I may do is go pick up some really low nicotine E juice if it gets too intense for me and just try to control my dosages so that I wean myself off same as what you did with the patch.

I guess we’ll see how I’m doing by Monday as I imagined I would be about when the cravings set in.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good luck man, many of my friends have been trying to quit for years. I wish you success

Posted using Partiko Android

There ain’t no trying involved! As my father says, pull up your socks, tuck in your shirt, take off your gloves, knuckle down, GITTER DUN BOI!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on giving up smoking!!! I think you will like it once you are over the addictive part. I just spoke to a friend yesterday who used to smoke a lot. Now, he hasn't in many months and says that he feels much better. He has been dealing with depression too and said smoking just allowed him to stuff it down instead of dealing with it...

Well part of the whole reason I started smoking was because none of the medications I could get for anxiety worked for me without extreme consequences where is simply nicotine would take away my anxiety, this will be the hardest part to conquer. I figure when I start feeling anxious I’ll just go out steppin like I currently am walking around my block for the second time!

I really enjoyed the whole process, it’s me time and helps me to reflect being able to calm enough. I haven’t always been a smoker therefore I can manage not being one once again!

Yes!! You can!! And the smoking gave you time to develop other tools to deal with the anxiety. It will take a bit - but you already are doing the key thing - replacing the habitual activity of smoking with something else - like the walking you are doing...
The nicotine is not difficult - in three days or so, that is done. It is replacing the act of grabbing a cigarette or whatever you were smoking with something else...Like when the feeling that prompted it comes up, or an action. Like some people always smoke after eating, or when they have a glass of wine. so, they had to find something else to do when A occurred to not want B = smoke . You can do this!!!

Yeah the replacing of one habit with another is something I do naturally, I learned to do this fighting with my obsessive nature which I’m certain you must’ve noticed by now!

Figured the easiest way to do it is just to replace my smoking with physical activity. Not that it’s a whole Lotta time on the daily but it will add up a couple extra quick dog walks here and there or like right now trying to walk myself till exhaustion!

I have also done a fair amount of reading on the subject of getting over addictions, understanding what my late buddy Ryan was going through. I know what’s ahead of me and the worst will hit I believe during my days off which I will have far too much time on my hands 🤞 no matter what I’ll keep you updated.

Here’s to giving it my all!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s great news! I gave up like 2 years ago. I still have slip ups if I’ve been out drinking sometimes lol 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I can imagine, it becomes a reflexive thing when you’re intoxicated!

I am more than likely not going to completely give up smoking weed but I do intend to make it much less dominant with in my life. Let’s be realistic if I’m at a friends house and he hands be a joint I’ll probably take a puff but I do not intend to start smoking at home regularly again!

Good for you buddy, I remember you mentioned this before.... how did the withdrawal treat you?

Yeah for sure, although who knows. I started off like that and now I can’t stand to be around the smell of smoke when I’m sober, something just changed. I vaped for a while, but I realized it just meant I would vape more than I would have smoked and gave me chest pains. Now I just need to adjust my diet 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seems to be what everyone says the smell goes from non-concerning to completely unappealing and in some cases even repulsive. All I know right now is it seems to be taking extra long for time to pass!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Smoking weed helps you quit smoking cigs. Also try to sweat a lot, in order to detoxify your body. It'll rid you of the toxins which makes it easier to quit and not feel that strong urge.

Yeah I need to heal my lungs so I have to quit smoking weed but I will be eating my edibles which should have similar affects on the urge.

Great tip on the sweating I didn’t think about that, I think I’m all set in that area as I sweat a fair amount at work usually drinking between 4 and 5 L of water on the daily! Maybe I’ll go hit the sauna and whirlpool for the first week after I get my evening stepping done 🤔

Thanks for the advice buddy I love you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome, hopefully it helps things go smoothly!! Cigs are the worst so I'm glad to hear you are quitting

I can think of a few substances that are far worse than smoking cigarettes but luckily I was never dumb enough to get into them! Still learning how to listen to my body when it says enough is enough 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great @d00k13. Highly support you. You can do it.💪🙌🤛

Posted using Partiko Android

Only five hours in and all I could think about is picking up either my bong or Vape! So at this very moment I’m out for my second walk of the evening, I’ll be @actifit Steppin from now on instead of @cannacurate tokin! No insult intended 😆 I’m still eating my thc gummy candies!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for share... smoking is harmful for health.

Everything is harmful to health these day! I need to do this for me, I am tired of always having a cough and feeling run down 😷

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have your reasons for quitting smoking and I wish you all the best.

It might not be easy, but determination is the key 🔑 to every success!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the words of encouragement, if anything my journey on Steem has taught me it is determination 💪 with a bit of resilience 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good decision you have make my friend.
Same thing even i want to do it for my self . I tried sometimes but again i started.
Good man that's cool

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the support my friend, deeply appreciated 💪

The trick is replacing the habit and triggers of the habit with something beneficial such as physical activity!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely a step in the right direction

Always be steppin’ 😝 this time at least I know where I’m trying to get too 😏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62