My First Beatbox Video — Improv/Practice

in #dtube5 years ago


I always said I'd get around to making some beatbox video content, so why not start with a simple improv/practice video? I have some ideas to do multi-tracking and make actual full songs later, but this is to get the ball rolling! Let me know what you think below with a comment :-)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@d-pend, wow... I'm totally surprising to listen your beat box. You controlled breathing amazing. Keep going and hope to see more videos later. I tweeted your vlog.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @madushanka, I appreciate the kind words and support! Beatboxing is a wonderful craft that anyone can learn. It's a fantastic means of self-expression. Thanks again and keep Steemin' on!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

  • find more information about the service
  • join the curation team and support this initiative


    This service is part of @theinnerblocks
    Join our discord to get in touch with us: https://discord.gg/5zRjax

And thank you very much for supporting my work! Cheers.

Nonoooo thank you for your creative content! We are here to find and curate such inspirational work :)

Feel free to support us with a little delegation (we are non-profit and pay back every single Steem/SP/SBD from our rewards)

Peace!

🙏Do you have a main post where I can read more about your initiative?

Haha yeah you are asking.. we had some main posts but they ran out of date because so many changes in the last months and I know I should create a new overview about everything implemented now. I know I know..

Will do this in near future but for now I am overloaded with work on several projects why I steeped back a little bit from promoting the service instead of maintaining it.

I will mention you in the upcoming one when it will come :)

Peace!

P.S. in the meantime you could check our latest curation report to see what kind of content we are curating: https://steemit.com/diy/@diytube/these-are-our-highlights-from-17-may-2019---24-may-2019

And of course you can and should check the wallet of @diytube because there you will find every transaction to our delegators and curators: https://steemitwallet.com/@diytube

Posted using Partiko Android

That was crazy! Are you some kind of Roboto? :D :D

I've been accused of being an android before. xD

Better than IOS xD

Posted using Partiko Android

@d-pend,

You win, I can't even whistle.

At 51, I'm at a loss for adjectives to describe what I just experienced. Beatbox ... I don't even know how to process it. I have to admit, though, there clearly is substantial artistry involved.

Great job ... I think. :-)

Quill

Lol. I think beatbox tends to be a pretty alienating art form to the "uninitiated." I also noticed that the more I practiced it, the more I could relate to the difficulty involved. There's this interesting aesthetic exchange between traditional wind/string/percussion instruments, electronic sounds, and beatboxing techniques where people attempt to mimic other sounds. Of course: It's a mouth. It'll always be approximations of other things.

The measure of artistic prowess many pros reach when they've been practicing for decades seems impossible. It looks like they're just lip-syncing to some pre-recorded track at times, haha.

I'm still not sure what the future of the craft is since it's so different from other art forms, but I have a feeling it will become more common and popular, eventually. Probably one of the most accessible applications of jt is in "loop station" creations where many sounds can be layered on top of each other to create full compositions mimicking an entire ensemble with the mouth only.

But, what's most important to me is that it's one of the most satisfying musical forms of expression as you learn more techniques and offers a very high ceiling of skill to reach over decades of familiarizing oneself with techniques, re-training the facial muscles, working out novel combinations of sounds, and improving breath control to achieve a sort of quasi-unlimited perpetual motion.

Thanks for watching and commenting!

Dan

@d-pend,

Actually, I was quite amazed.

I thought you were playing a background track (the beat part, I guess). There is no question, it's an impressive feat. My only question is what to do with it. I actually wondered whether it could be married up with a poetry recitation (like minstrels of old using the lyre to create "background music" for their recitations).

This actually touches upon something I've been thinking about for some time ... collaborating with other Steemians of multiple talents to create "unique combinations" ... a "harmonizing of effects."

Quill

Bravo @d-pend,

Now get a glass of water.

I have only heard your unedited Beatbox a couple times. You really got it. After hearing this video I have an urge to mix the sounds. I bet you do as well.

One of my back logged projects is to put Bible verses in English and Korean to beats and finally to create animated characters to dance to the beat. I have a long way to go but this video is a great resource to discover beats and sounds.

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.449 which ranks you at #693 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 171 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow... How much talent! I couldn't help smiling at so much facial movement, necessary but funny. I like very much.

Wow... How much talent! I couldn't help smiling at so much facial movement, necessary but funny. I like very much. Great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96