Steemit Office CGI animation by crypto3d

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Behind the scenes

Finally, after a ton of tweaks and fixes, I managed to produce this short Steemit Office CGI sequence. The scene took a ton of optimization to achieve DECENT quality at a reasonable render time, as its exactly 460 frames long!

Render time: 460 frames x 3mins = 23hrs

The workstation I used to render this project out is a dual-zone Xeon CPU setup:

As per software, the scene was set up in 3dsmax 2016 and rendered in v-ray 3.5, post-edited in After Effects CC.

Making of (technical talk):

The scene is a simple v-ray sun + skyportal setup - my go-to for majority of interior scenes.

Optimization was the real challenge. As I'm used to ArchViz rendering with camera sequences averaging at 4-5sec, having 460 frames rendering at 20mins each wasn't an option (that would be 153hrs!), meaning my usual render settings didn't work anymore. I went on tweaking and testing for hours before I came up with this:

This reduced the render time to 3min/frame, a number I could live with. I rendered the prepass GI first, with Light Cache and Irradiance Map set to "Use camera path"

I rendered only 3 render elements:

  • VraySpecular - to enchance some of the reflections
  • VrayRawLighting - adding more shadow information to the scene, so it doesn't feel "washed out"
  • WireColor - in case any object needed tweaking later

As the raw render was already decent looking, there wasn't much post-editing required. Apart from basic levels and curves adjustments, I used the VrayRawLighting, overlayed on top the raw render with an opacity of 22% to enhance the shadows throughout the scene (excluding the logo).

The GIF

Even though I rendered the final composition as MP4, I decided to have a little more fun with it and made it into my own little GIF

In fact, if you'd like to have YOUR VERY OWN animated GIF, with YOUR words scribbled on the wall, you can find me at dworak92#9890 on discord!

Coming up!

  • Arkham Knight VR review
  • Superhot VR review
  • Steemit in Augmented Reality
  • If you're interested in finding out more about emerging technologies, CGI work and VR reviews, follow me and drop a comment below!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

No wayyy you made this with computer, what? I thought it was real life! What program you use for this art?!

I used 3dsmax 2016 + v-ray 3.4, glad you liked it :)

Yeah, it's truly amazing! Keep up the work!

Incredible my brother ... his animated picture is very cool. As if someone had brought a camera to get closer to it. Though this is a gif. But a little at the end of his like there is a slight jump. Is it able to sisip n upgrede again .. 😊

what can i say...Very Very VERY impressive :)

Thanks! Means a lot

I didn't watch your DTube but I watched your GIF. Very well done and the effort to make it perfect and you have my highest gratitude for making Steemit more awesome with your original content!
You have my 10 cent worth of upvote!
I know it is not much but keep this up! When we all turn dolphins we can support each other even easier and better!
upvoted

Thanks! Updated post with youtube link :)

Really nice bro!!! Amazing real life rendering.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @crypto3d to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50