You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our First Humanure Harvest! We Take You Every Step of the Way!

in #dtube6 years ago

I've been wanting to pace a couple of these in secluded places in our woods and near our barn, which my husband isn't thrilled about, but which we'll wind up doing some time soon.

Glad to know that it's working for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Keep working on the hubby, he'll come around ;) I was sold in the stable 2 bay system cause I just don't fancy the idea of moving fresh poop around. I'm not squeamish at all, but it seems like just one more chore. As we learned, and outdoor toilet does not need to be gross, shabby or nasty. We build ours with the purpose of creating a harmonious place to visit every day.

I totally agree. I'm actually planning a little meditation hut, with the first one to be built of bottles, with a small bench and perhaps a few books in addition to the humanure toilet.

I'm also planning to plant mountain mint all around the base, the better to keep critters out, and will hang some of it to dry during the growing season, to be used as strewing herbs throughout the year.

Who says that the outhouse can't also be a place of beauty and tranquility? ;-)

I'm also really interested to hear your take on black soldier flies. I've been wanting to raise them for a year or so, both to finish our compost much faster, and to provide alternate winter feed for our chickens and ducks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44