Dance Insecurities and Why I'm Saying F*ck It This Weekend

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi Friends!

I'm up in Vancouver Canada this weekend for a dance convention and decided to film this vlog talking about my experience so far! The world of dance can be full of people competing for attentinon, judging each other and all around drama (imagine high school). Not everyone is like this -but in general the culture lends itself to it.

I've been going to dance conventions like this for probably at least 7 years - and I always let some of this drama and my own insecurities hold me back. Going into this weekend though... I just decided to say f*ck it and anytime I feel that creep back in... I just make myself go face my fear. Maybe that looks like taking the higher level classes i've earned a spot in - or asking that really good dancer to dance, or not getting nervous mid-dance with said really good dancer.

It's really made a difference in my weekend and how much fun I'm having - not to mention how much more relaxed I feel in the experience.

I hope you guys enjoy this vlog/update! I'll be back after the weekend with more regularly scheduled programing! ;)

XO, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

nice!!! what type of dance is it?

I do west coast swing! It's a partner dance. The whole premise of the dance is based on partner connection and improv. So even there there are standard moves - the dance is basically two people co-creating on the spot. It's super creative/fun!

Here's a video that kind of explains what it is:

Oh I remember those conventions and the drama 😂. I never won anything so I was always quite confident 😀

WCS is unbelievable. Happy days.

Posted using Partiko iOS

SO fun that know west coast swing! Most people have no idea what it is. hehe

Yeah there always seems to be so much drama in the dance world. Just choosing to ignore it this weekend was super nice. I actually decided to not even compete - which is unusual for me... but it was nice to just be chill and take workshops/social dance!

Facing insecurities head on is the best way to overcome them and provide you the confidence that you know you really have it what you do given the skillset you have prepared for.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Totally agree. Facing fears head on is the only way. Trying to get better at that. :)

Wish I could be there to watch and cheer you on 😘 so close yet so far away 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wait I’d probably be that embarrassing distraction 😅😅😅😅

screaming Woooo Shake It Steem Sister!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahhah your comment totally made my day! <3

Yeah Vancouver Island is ALMOST the same as Vancouver! hehe I'll have to let you know if I head over to the Island sometime. Maybe it would work out to meetup. :) Mary and I have a grandma over there, but we don't make it to visit her very often.

I’d so book the day off work 😉

The first Steemians I meet would be the Steem Sister! My heart just skipped a beat with that thought 😅 call me a fan boy 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

awww I love that!!! <3 We will definitely let you know next time we are heading to the Island to see what can work out. We would have so much fun together! And we would definitely have to film some fun videos. hehe

It would definitely be time to remember 😅 Fast Karts wearing GoPro helmet mounts! I so wanted to try do it last summer but it was raining that weekend so they were closed.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I actually didnt see you dancing AT steemfest. ...

Posted using Partiko Android

What are you talking about? You two were dancing for hours! I thought Germans could handle their alcohol.

I was dancing. Lea was sitting upstairs drinking wine with @steembirds all day long :D

Posted using Partiko Android

i recently complaint that steembirds just accept women. i want a quota for steem man! :D

I enjoyed watching your video and reading your post. Just dance and enjoy yourself. I'm always invited to attend dance events and asked to go on stage and freestlyle over the music. Ask the dancer with the biggest smile to dance and you will have fun.
Have a great weekend

Wow that's so rad!! I love your advice to ask dancers with the biggest smile... what a great way to look at things!

Way too pretty to be insecure :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76