Where's My Real Bed? Camping in Sequoia & Kings Canyon

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Decided to take a break from the city, and let nature take over :)

To watch my snapchat story of this trip, CLICK THIS LINK!

We drove to Sequoia (definitely needed to haul our camp gear)! We left around 4AM in the morning, and being on the road for so long, we were so glad to see the first park sign!

We camped at the LODGEPOLE CAMPGROUND. Quick stats on the campground:

  • 214 sites for tents, RV, Trailers
  • Flush toilets & showers
  • Elevation = 6,700 ft
  • Very popular campground (if you plan to camp in spring/summer, be sure to reserve a campsite in advance!)

Because we camped in higher elevation during the early winter, it was a lot colder. When we arrived, a party of (3) were packing up and went to a campground that was lower in elevation (where it's warmer); they couldn't sleep because it was too cold, yikes! Please plan accordingly!

It was so cold at night, I had to keep warm by wearing my down coat! It reached ~15°F (-9.4°C) - I looked miserable from the cold, but I kept warm by drinking hot beverages and staying close to the fire.

GO BIG OR GO HOME

Explored the GIANT FOREST.
Did you know 5/10 of the most biggest trees on the planet is located in this forest!? The largest one is General Sherman Tree, and trunk diameter measures 36.5 feet (11.1 m)! And they can grow as tall as 300ft (91.44m)! You may not know my height, but I can stack up against these giant trees any day ;)
(Am I Big Foot, or are you shrunken version of Ant Man?!)

To end our days (and this post), I'm sharing a photo we took of the sunset. I love sunsets - no matter what happens, the days end beautifully =) I got to end my days looking at this:


BTC:
1Br9DQPYZRcE3GPRyHJT2vpge1pEiEfHz2

BCH:
1NgXoAqi62J49ap6GDpuaqT7Y8SwEfmewL

ETH:
0x50a1A0fF45514960188a42313AEdc6DA4Ced4384

LTC:
LXCZ2x5nw8cQ4nWQ3xPrJ93q3Na8HvyFSL

Sort:  

Where's the snow? I visited Blue Canyon, today; it was hard to find any snow on the ground. I was planning to get winter time pictures of Yosemite this following week. The Ant-man pov picture was awesome. Hoping to see more post of you having fun outside.

It's been a very dry winter this year, so unfortunately, no snow at the areas I was in @ Sequoia :(

Yosemite is north of Sequoia. Depending how high you are, I'm sure you'll get some snow! As a matter of fact, it's raining/snowing today & tomorrow! You picked a good time to go! LMK if you see any snow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61026.32
ETH 3397.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56