Hosting DTube VideossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

After viewing a video on DTube I commented on an old post asking about using Webtorrent on non-Windows systems to host @dtube videos. There were no replies so I thought I would just create a post asking for advice from the community about this.

As a personal project (possibly a business later) I am trying to learn what I can about creating a Content Distribution Network (CDN) using a server I purchased (no hard drives at present, they will be acquired later). I didn't want to set up a CDN but then find myself unable to help the community with it by having an OS that doesn't work with the modified version of Webtorrent.

Does this version of Webtorrent work with Linux distros? If not, which operating systems does it work with?

Thanks in advance for any advice/answers ;-)

[EDIT: I have noticed that Webtorrent has a Linux and also a Mac version and in some comments for another post it was mentioned that using Webtorrent - the unmodified version - just means using the magnet link thing so doing it all manually so for anyone who wanted the same answer as I did, just use the Linux or Mac version of Webtorrent and then use the magnet link on the dtube video and drop it into the big box on the main Webtorrent page. I hope that helps you out guys.

A big thanks to @free999enigma for being the only one to reply on here and also for sharing this post through chat and trying to get us answers. That's much appreciated.

Also check out the instructions from @marketingmonk, I have downloaded the modified version and am currently using my Windows 10 netbook to host a video from dtube as a test and all seems ok this end.]

Sort:  

You can try to find some help here https://steemit.chat/channel/dtube
Or posting on steem through https://utopian.io/

:)

Brilliant, thank you ;-)

Congratulations @cartographer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37