Consistent Glitches and Errors are Ruining the dtube User Experience (For Me)

in #dtube7 years ago

First of all let me start by saying what a fantastic idea I think dtube is. After using youtube for a number of years as a content creator, and receiving millions of views and subscribers in the 10s of thousands I've become dissatisfied with the earning potential it offers, and I feel like I could and should be earning more for the size of audience that I have. dtube has the potential to offer a much better and fairer experience for both creators and users alike, however almost every time I've tried to use it I've encountered so many problems that for me it is currently unusable.

I primarily use the safari browser and with that I frequently get a dramatically cropped version of the screen where I can only view what appears to be a zoomed in version of the top left corner. Today I can't even get videos to load whatsoever and just get what can be seen below...

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 14.00.30.png

Either way it's unusable and makes me with that the content creator had just uploaded to YouTube instead, especially if it's something I really want to watch...

I have also tried using the chrome browser and run into similar problems. It seems I am unable to upload any of my own video to dtube and no matter how much I try to add my "snap" aka thumbnail dtube will not let me. I've tried both the "take snap" feature and the "upload snap" way and neither work. I've even waited for over an hour because I thought dtube was just running incredibly slowly but that didn't work either (see below)...

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 12.15.59.png

I first tried using dtube a couple of months ago but I had the same problems so I thought I'd leave it a while before trying again. I was disappointed to find that despite the interface looking prettier and more appealing the platform itself is still not functioning as it should. It's not my intention to moan but more to make the development team aware that there are still a number of bugs getting in the way of having an enjoyable experience using the dtube platform. If it's happening to me chances are it's also happening to other people and preventing them from getting involved, whether it be as a consumer or provider of content. I hope that the people behind dtube see this post and are able to take the action required to improve it and turn it into the fantastic YouTube killer that it could one day become.

Sort:  

Am having the same challenge with the 'snap' on Chrome.I tried taking a snap directly from the video and that worked in that it took the snap and saved it to my computer. But it will not upload it properly. I renamed the image from "snap" to a more descriptive title and it still didn't work.
I really hope this message gets to those in charge. Thanks for bringing this to the notice of the general steemit public.

Sounds like you're having very similar issues to what I'm having then. I've been having this problem with the 'snap' for at least a couple of months now, hopefully they'll be able to fix it soon

I really hope they do so. Let's see how things go.

This is really good @captaincanary is bringing this to the notice of everyone, on behalf of those of us who are having challenges with dtube.
Mine is that right now it is very very frustrating to upload videos to dtube. For me it is only working one out of ten times. I have to try for some time to have it uploaded.
Wish they look into it.

Yes it can be frustrating especially if you have spent time creating the video/description/thumbnail if you are ten unable to upload. I'm sure that if given the time and awareness of any problems they will be able to make dtube a success

Exactly. I was thinking I was the only one having this challenge.
When you try playing so many videos, Some videos work flawlessly, others will never start, tried it with chrome, firefox, explorer and opera on 2 different pc. The videos that work always work, and the others never work, but they have comments coming in every minutes, so somebody is playing them ok.
I just wish for this compliant to get to the programmers of dtube.
Resteemed for faster spreading.
Thanks for bringing this up @captaincanary

Thanks, it's good to know that I'm not the only one having these issues! Like you said the videos on there are attracting quite a lot of attention and that's why I was confused that the platform was working so badly for me. I did start to think it was maybe a Mac problem but clearly not if you are also having problems on PCs. Cheers for the resteem, hopefully that will help to bring it to the developers attention.

You welcome. We hope it gets to their attention.

This is so unfortunate. You are not alone in this. A fellow of mine had this same problem. He is now actually using dtude with FireFox. He got the same problem with safari and chrome. So we decided to try Firefox, and it worked well.
Maybe you should give Firefox a try.

Ok yeh thanks a lot for the tip, I will try that next time! Still, the developers need to make sure it can run smoothly on other browsers before it has a chance of gathering a large userbase

Wow, wow, this I really new to me. I and a lot of my friends have tried the new dtube, and it seemed to work very well. We did not really find any problem with it. But this does not do away with the fact that it can malfunction. Even one of the programmers of dtube @heimindanger made it clear that dtube is still evolving and would try to get better.
I read one of @heimindanger post on dtube, and he said If we have any challenges with dtube, we should please keep the bug reports coming, and by doing a quick DTube video is a nice way to showcase your bugs.
Tagging dtube in the video tags, and mentioning @heimindanger in the post will most likely get their attention. You could also go to their announcement post on dtube 0.5 located at https://steemit.com/dtube/@heimindanger/d-tube-0-5-big-optimizations and drop a comment on your challenges, linking the video you've made on the bug report.
This will surely go a long way to help all those who have this challenge and also to help make dtube better.
Hope I was of help @captaincanary all the best

Thanks a lot I will be sure to drop a comment on that @heimindanger post linking to this post. Just out of interest which browser are you and your friends using for dtube?

Okay I use a Opera browser while my friends use a Chrome and a Mozilla.

Congratulations @captaincanary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

STOP

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85