Tiny House Plumbing Trial (Video)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


In this video, I show two small leaks that occurred when I installed my plumbing. I also briefly discuss and show the 150 gallon water bladder we have hidden under the floor. Both of the leaks were preventable but, for a first time water line installation, I think I did pretty well.

This video is an adjunct to the article Tiny House Episode 17: Plumbing

One leak occurred when I ran out of PEX compression rings and followed someone's advice to use a hose clamp instead; alas, the hose clamp failed.

leakI used a yogurt container to catch this leak

The second leak occurred where this one way valve screwed into the hot water tank because I didn't use enough Teflon tape. After unscrewing the valve and putting on a new layer of tape I didn't have a problem.

The purpose of the one way valve is to prevent hot water from flowing back to the water pump and storage bladder.

tankYou can see the crimp in the PEX compression rings.

Thanks for reading/watching everyone! Please upvote, follow and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome and I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have about tiny houses.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Howdy my Canadian Friend. Hope your plumbing accommodates this nasty cold that we have been getting. I bought heat tape and pipe insulator foam at Home Depot and it was only about $8 and $12. Good Luck with the pipes.

Thanks, we did have some issues with our drain lines and I did consider the heat tape but all the warnings on the package made me paranoid about burning the house down.

excellent working! plumbing

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65