Renegade's Home Build vlog #36 - Trapped at the Homestead?

in #dtube5 years ago


With a spring storm in the forecast, I took the car out to the homestead against my better judgement. The weather seemed to be fine before I packed up in the early morning. While it was windy, there wasn't any snow coming down yet so I figured the car would be OK.

It was one of those situations where you sort of get tricked into making a bad decision. The snow started coming down hard and driving conditions deteriorated. I was just about to turn back, but then I hit a section where the roads were decent. By the time I realized I had gone too far, and should turn back, I figured the drive home would be just as dangerous as the the drive to the house and I really wanted to get some work done. Once I got there though I was a bit concerned that I might have to spend the night! I certainly didn't want to risk that type of dangerous drive again and, depending on how long the storm would last, it could take awhile before crews cleared the roads!

Tune in to see what I ended up getting done and whether or not I had to stay the night!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well I hope you had a safe drive home. I know alot of the roads were shut down, and a ton of accidents as well.

Thanks.

Yeah the roads were fine, I waited until the AMA road condition map said the roads were clear. I saw semi rolled over in the ditch on the way home though....

I glad You waited till the roads were cleared as I was watching the road cameras and it was looking nasty there for awhile.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Did the snow start again in Edmonton later in the day? I left town at 4:20pm hoping to arrive home in Strathmore ahead of the storm. And, wanted to travel in daylight. All hell broke loose north of Disbury. I got home at 9:30, usually takes 2hrs 45mins. It was the worst road conditions i have ever driven in. With hindsight being 20/20.... i should have stayed! Super nuts storm. Great progress man! Your build is really coming along. Hope your drive home was a lot better than mine was 🙀

Yikes! Sounds like I wasn't the only one who under estimated this storm.

Yeah, the drive home wasn't too bad. Going there was crazy though. At one point I had to get off the hi-way and just drive 30-40 km/h on the range roads cause it was just too slick!

Srsly! So slick. And, lots of zero visibility. Under estimated is an understatement. Silly me. Glad it all worked out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63