Healthy Vegan Survival Dinner

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Let me show you how I grind rice, lentils, vegetables and spices into a fine powdered mix which can be quickly cooked in camp for a delicious hot and hearty meal. It's also light and compact in my backpack and feeds me for days... the perfect healthy vegan survival dinner!


Bulk Food Storage


As some of you know, my ultimate plan is to move from living in the truck to living off of the Rad Rover I modified into a Solar eBike. In order to pull that off I needed a way to store lots of food on the bike so that I could spend long periods of time in the wilderness.

As you can see, there's lots of space in each of these containers, and the aluminum lining keeps the temperature under control. I found these on the Rad Rover website, so they fit the bike perfectly. All of the ingredients in this article are stored in these, with the exception of the 25 pound bag of rice...

Organic White Rice


White rice is a perfect survival food. Tons of calories can be packed into a small amount of space while weighing very little since the grains are completely dry, and it's super cheap! I'm going to upgrade those advantages by grinding it into a powder.

A quick note about brown vs. white rice. Brown rice does have some more nutrients and fiber than white rice, but it can also carry a large dose of arsenic in the hull, along with other unpleasant compounds. Also, all that extra fiber can cause gas.

Here's where I currently get my Organic White Rice.

Organic Red Lentils


Before I turned Vegan I stayed pretty far away from beans and lentils, and for good reason considering the amount of health harming lectins they contain. However, I need a good storable protein source which cooked quickly, and red lentils are the best thing I've found so far.

I've been experimenting with various beans and lentils to see how they affect me, since lectin types vary by bean and also effect everyone differently, and Red Lentils had no noticeable negative effect on me. Also, it cooks quickly dissolving into the hot liquid and has a wonderful flavor!

Here's where I buy my Organic Red Lentils.

Organic Dehydrated Vegetables


Vegetables are arguably the most important part of our diets, and most of us don't get nearly enough. Ideally I'd want fresh veggies with their structured water still intact, but when living nomadically sacrifices must be made.

I use Organic Freeze Dried Vegetables in this mix to get those much needed nutrients while out in the wilderness. The Broccoli and Corn are my favorites, but the Peas are pretty good as well.

Organic Spices


Spices are where the fun really begins because they unlock an unlimited combination of flavors for the same basic meal. I've only used the Salt, Pepper and Turmeric combination so far, but I'm looking forward to experimenting with more and hearing your thoughts on good things to try!

By the way, I don't just use Turmeric for flavor, it's also an incredibly healthy spice. One of the main reasons is its powerful anti-inflammatory properties, but there are plenty of other benefits.

Here's where I get my Salt, Pepper and Turmeric.

Grind Into a Powder


Once I've combined all ingredients into the storage jar, I pour it all into a blender and grind it into a fine powder. I do this with a very powerful blender using my solar panel and a power inverter, and it even had trouble with this, so be careful not to break your weaker blender.

I'll probably convert to using either a battery powered coffee grinder or get a manual hand grinder at some point. While these will both require I spend more time in the grinding process, their packability will be key for when I'm on the bike 24/7.

Titanium Camp Pot & Stove


The little Camp Pot you see me holding in my hand is made of titanium, which means it's super lightweight and extremely sturdy even when heated. It also contains my entire Camp Stove system as well, which relies on sticks and twigs available almost anywhere as fuel.

Organic Coconut Oil


Once the water is boiling, I add about 2 Tablespoons of Organic Coconut Oil. This adds some healthy calories to the meal along with a nice flavor. It also coats the carbohydrates in the rice with fat which reduces its insulin response.

Add Powder and Stir


With the Coconut Oil melting in the water, I begin adding the powdered mixture one spoonful at a time. Mixing here is critical, as it can tend to get clumped up on the bottom of the pot, causing it to get charred and inedible.

I let it boil for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently, and then put the lid on and let it simmer for another 20 minutes or so.

Enjoy a Hot Hearty Meal!


That's all there is to it! This quick, easy and healthy vegan meal will keep your belly full and warm on the trail or in a survival situation. You can even add it to a thermos and sip on it while you're on the move.

Don't forget to let me know if you discover any good spice combinations!

Cahlen


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I agree white rice being more suitable for consumption than brown rice. Just cause brown rice has fiber, it doesn't mean it's better. It is much more difficult to digest.

Exactly. I like the taste of white rice more too.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks so cool as a powder. Very nutritious and doesn't spoil easily.

Yup, just gotta keep moisture out of the container and it'll last a long time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wealth of knowledge here. Wow, well done and thank you!

@cahlen, First of all i want to say that, it's reflecting as you are living an Natural Life and staying close to nature. And when we cook our own food and with fresh ingredients then for sure that's an blessed life. And i believe that the essence of healthiness and love which we can find in our cooking cannot be found at any restaurants. Stay blessed. 🙂

#zapp

Posted using Partiko Android

I am blessed by your comment @chireerocks, thank you. I wish for you to be blessed as well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome brother and thank you so much. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

Hey bro you re just amazing. You look like a young Gandalf.

Love your stuff, love your explanation and your view of taking your life. Please continue doing this kind of works.

See you here in dtube.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, young Gandalf brought a huge smile to my face, thanks @ignacioarreses!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done Cahlen.. will try this also to make me a nice soup... What do you do , when you only life with the bike in rainy weather and will you then only sleep im a tent ? Then what about snakes and other animals during the night.. I think the truck is a better option and you should try to modify your truck to electric power , when soon the new batteries from Robert Murray Smith come out. Look him up on YouTube. Regards, Stefan.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @overunitydotcom!

I've actually been experimenting with living in a hammock in the middle of winter, and it's very comfortable even in wet and windy weather. Animals are the primary problem, though I feel it is one I will face at some point regardless, so might as well face it and get comfortable. I'm still nervous about it.

I've been fantasizing about converting the truck to electric for a long time... at the moment I don't have the resources, but I look forward to the time that I do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Woah, sleeping in just a hammock in rainy stormy weather and with being pretty cold outdorors needs a lot of power and strong will to overcome the night, I would guess ??!!

What animals are you then afraid of ? How high, do you hang the hammock then ?

Are there wolves or beares there in this area or hyanes that could bite you ?
Or do you mean snakes and Scorpions ? Or which animals are you afraid of there ?

Probably you could hang the hammock pretty high then, but then you have to watch out not to fall out of it, when you need to go pee in the middle of the night...lol... ;)

Anyway, good luck on your adventures and let the videos be coming.

BTW, just also bought a new phone a Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite and with the OpenCamera App I am getting great 4K Videos now.. Have a look what I just filmed and I am first using Google Photos App to stabilize the videos...
Does KineMaster has an integrated anti-shake filter ? Then I could directly edit it all in Kinemaster and don´t need to use Google Photos for stabilisation...
Cyberlink Powerdirector App I tried seems to have no antishake filter... Damn..

Also still have to test the GoogleCamera app, but OpenCamera also gives me great datarate 4K recordings, that the standard camera app does not have.

If you wanna have a look at my latest videos I just uploaded go here:
https://www.youtube.com/user/ruhlebenberlin/videos

This one has a live test of the realtime gamma and brightness and Iso settings one can do during recordings:


Well it is in German language, but I guess you will get the hang out if it, when you see the video...
Regards, Stefan.

Well the flickering at the beginning of the video is probably due to I used only 25 frames/sec framerate and the Google Photos APP antishake filter is probably optimized to 30 Frames/sec...Also I shook the phone too much at the beginning, so the stabilisation was not very efficient...Cheers.

I guess it would have taken a strong will a year ago, but I'm pretty used to living outside now, I barely notice it.

I'm afraid of bears and mountain lions. There are coyotes in most places I sleep, and they often come right into camp at night, but they never bother me even when I'm sleeping on the ground. I don't hang the hammock high enough to avoid animals.

I don't think Kinemaster had antishake, but Open Camera does. That is a pretty clear shot your camera is giving you, nice! I'm only getting 1080p on YouTube though. Did you upload in 4k?

Posted using Partiko Android

@Cahlen
yes, I upload now all my new Videos from the new Xiamio Mi A2 Lite phone in 4K Resolution.. Yes, I used the Open Camera App, but their stabilisation feature in 4K Mode is not the best, so I put it afterwards through the Google Photos App Antishake filter that is really nicely adding nice stabilisation.
But the problem is, that the File sizes are pretty big then and it takes a lot time to upload... so I maybe will soon go back to 1080p, when I am back on the campground, where I only have 60 GB data traffic per month...

Looks pretty interesting, how's it taste? What's the cost like compared to something like soylent on a per calorie basis? I've been interested in relatively heathy and cheap powder type meals. I imagine the rice and lentils are relatively cheap and the dehydrated vegetables add the most cost.

It tastes amazing! Perfect thing on a cold evening. I'm looking forward to experimenting with different spice combinations.

I haven't done all the efficiency calculations yet, but it will be a fun project. Might need to find a real measuring cup...

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a free upvote from @reversed-bidbot! Follow me to earn steem by interacting with my promoted posts.

Very interesting.

It's looks like great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66