Watch Me Rock-Climb For The First Time Ever!!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE TO WATCH US CLIMB ON D-TUBE!! :)

Today, after weeks of @biasnarrative asking me to go rock-climbing with him, we finally had the time today to go to Canyons Climbing Gym in Frisco, TX. I'm down here for a few days just checking out the Dallas area.

The instructor at the gym gave us the safety directions and we made our way to the climbing wall first. These have harnesses that a climber and their belayer can put on. This assures safety in case someone falls while 20+ feet up in the air.

I was a little nervous at the beginning but after a few different tries, I was over the height fear and kept my mind busy with strategizing the path and, of course, having fun! :D

After a few different difficulty levels of each, we moved on to the bouldering wall. On these, there are no harnesses involved so the walls are lower. The floor underneath is also a mat so even if someone falls, it isn't dangerous as long as they land on their feet, rolled back, or butt.

There were so many people climbing like monkeys everywhere. What blew my mind was little kids (like 8-10 year olds) just climbing all over the place; granted, they weigh very little and have obscene amounts of energy.

Overall, it was an excellent experience and I can't wait to start going to my University gym more often to climb the walls there. Maybe I will be including climbing once or twice a week and switch up my pure-lifting-only plan t his coming semester ;)

Have you guys tried rock-climbing, indoors or outdoors? If so, how long has it been and what suggestions/tips do you have for beginner climbers? If not, would you give it a shot? I definitely recommend it! :)

Cheers,
Reez


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great. I will definitely try rock climbing one day in Nepal. Thanks @cabernet for reminding me about rock climbing. Seems you're enjoying your life in US.

Awesome! I'm sure you'll love it too!

I'm sure I will..

Nice work !

It will compliment your other training really well. Climbing is the epitome of full body functional fitness & strength.

It's hard to give tips because you already seem like a good climber, but if you want to get better at climbing - climb a lot and hang out with climbers.

Thank you @khufu! Practice makes perfect for sure!

I love rock climbing! Very little actual experience but always jump at the opportunity to pull some plastic!

The most impactful advice I got early on was to make sure you rest with legs bent and close to the wall and straight arms and not the opposite. And if you plan on sticking with it, learn different holds early because it will help you avoid injury as you increase frequency and difficulty.

Resting with legs bent and arms straight definitely makes sense. I found myself doing this naturally today.

I just looked up different holding techniques during climbing. I had no idea this was so crucial. Thanks for the advice! :)

Wow :)
You did it. Yayy !! :D

Haha thanks! It was super fun :D

Yea looks like.

That's pretty awesome! How about we set the bars a little high?
next time... Mt. Everest? ;)

hahaha cold AND climbing is definitely not my cup of tea ;)

Congratulations @cabernet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67