Hank Bukowski Poem #2: Are You Drinking?

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Are You Drinking - Poem by Charles Bukowski

Washed-up, on shore, the old yellow notebook
out again

I write from the bed
as I did last
year.

Will see the doctor,
Monday.

"yes, doctor, weak legs, vertigo, head-
aches and my back
hurts."

"are you drinking?" he will ask.

"are you getting your
exercise, your
vitamins?"

I think that I am just ill
with life, the same stale yet
fluctuating
factors.

Even at the track
I watch the horses run by
and it seems
meaningless.

I leave early after buying tickets on the
remaining races.

"taking off?" asks the motel
clerk.

"yes, it's boring,"
I tell him.

"If you think it's boring
out there," he tells me, "you oughta be
back here."

so here I am
propped up against my pillows
again
just an old guy
just an old writer
with a yellow
notebook.

Something is
walking across the
floor
toward
me.

Oh, it's just
my cat
this
time.

-Charles Bukowski
Bukowski Speaks!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Beautiful! I followed your account as soon as I read your name. Bukowski is one of my favorite poets of all time! A true genius. Thank you for sharing his beautiful poetry on here! :)

Thank you! I hope you enjoy my posts :-)

I’m sure I will!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bukowski-speaks to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @bukowski-speaks! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bukowski-speaks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51