The Wood Wizard: How to clean your grill.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


My first grilling video was a lot of fun and I am certainly looking forward to doing more in the near future. A question that was asked after my first video was about the image of the wooden paddle I was using on my grill.


This is my BBQ scraper. Several years ago I was at a fair and wandering through the crafts area when I stumbled upon this product. The Wood Wizard is a wooden paddle made out of cedar that replaces the old steel or metal scrapers that people traditionally use to clean the BBQ.



Related image
Source

The idea is that the cedar will burn away and the paddle will form to the shape of your grill giving you a custom fit grill scraper. Not only is it custom fit, the grooves are tight to the grill giving a clean scrape. Ove time and continued use the paddle groves continue to form to the shape of the grill and won’t change shape. This gives the scraper a much longer life expectancy.



Source

The best thing about using the Wood Wizard is that protects both the grill and the food you cook on it. Traditional metal grill scrapers can be hard on the grill surface and actually cause damage to the grill rack. Scraping can leave little nicks and scrapes in the racks that could lead to a shorter life span and potential uneven cooking. Even more important is the elimination of metal particles that can come off the brush and stick to the grill. These metal pieces could potentially end up in the food you cook and therefore be eaten. I had never thought much about these things before I learned about the Wood Wizard but it makes perfect sense that these are things that you should be concerned about.



Source

There are several products out there that are very similar and do the same job as the Wood Wizard. I buy this particular brand because I found it at the local craft show and because it is locally made. Whatever brand you find, I would highly encourage you to get yourself a wooden BBQ scraper. I can assure you that you will be extremely happy with how it cleans and you will never have to worry about metal particles in your food again. I have been using mine for a few years now and would never go back to anything else.

Happy Grilling!!!



Animated_GIF-downsized_large_23.gif
Created by @hansenatortravel


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I like it, a lot. My brother had a piece like that (not quite the same) that he used on his Traeger. It worked well, but he also had a couple of pieces of dowl that were used to scrape the cracks. They just about fit when they were new, and soon ground into the job. When they got too gross you'd just cut an inch off and start the process again. A clean grill is a really good thing.

Yeah, that's what I love about these things. For $14.99 I have a scraper that is going to last a long time.

Great Idea! i've never hear of cleaning the grill that way...Thanks for the video @BroncoFan99. Keep'em coming!

Thanks. I hope younger a chance to try it out.

That is very smart. I know the metal ones seem to slowly take the metal away and always wonder how much metal and rust is going into the food?

Yeah, I never considered it before but would never go back now.

This is awesome! And you are right, the traditional metal scrapers for grills do have the potential to leave behind parts of them. Cool little product! :)

Yeah, I am hooked. I can't see myself ever going back.

very cool, I wonder how something like that would work on my grill. Mine isn't sharp like yours, its more flat. I am sure it would probably work the same. How long did it take to get the nice grooves in it?

It is the heat of the grates that burns the wood. They start almost instantly. It would work for sure. You just need to apply a little pressure as you run in the grate. Voila, customized scraper.

hahaha awesome. :) It really is a good idea for a scraper.

Thats a great tip!! I use charcoal, so i prefer letting the heat clean the grill. If good ol fashioned fire cant purge it well then a traditional piece of aluminum foil does the trick 😁. I will certainly look into this wooden cleaner because its all natural and im a huge fan 🤗. Thanks for the tip!

I'm totally depressed right now.
2006-adversity.jpg
This month some hackers have hacked my Bittrex account with all my crypto in it, crypto in which I've invested all my free money.
And now I've been banned from a freelance website on which I work and I've no money on my hands right now. I need some time to reopen my freelance account and get new orders so I ask you to help me with money.

I'm sorry to bother you, dear Steemit community, but I require help and I hope to find it. Please support me with any amount you can give away to help a weird stranger like me...
BTC wallet:
19mZss2KvEtj82k27jx1hzpRzmKmnFkeDp
LTC wallet:
LguYTiSwVMHdEDmMvBFvSKkYY7E4gebbCs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49