The Last Gold Sovereign!! WHY!?!

in #dtube5 years ago


With the financial collapse and a worthless pound dollar and all other currencies, who could afford to buy a Sovereign?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's still special by being a proof.

You very well could be right. I would imagine that they would at least try to keep minting the nation's coins because that's a symbol of pride and stability. Even if most people can't afford to buy them, there will still be some people who will have enough resources that they'll want to pick up some of the new year coins. I don't have anywhere close to the amount of precious metals that I would like, but I feel better knowing I have more than none!

Reminds me of the stories where it takes a wheelbarrow of cash to buy a loaf of bread.

I have a few old sovereigns passed to me from my Gramps a Vicky and an Eddy. They seen some circulation but still pretty.
You could be right as many many people can't afford them as they live from paycheck to paycheck with their currency's buying power becomes smaller by the day.
I purchased much of mine when I had savings but that quickly eroded away over the last 5 years from more taxes and real inflation, I rarely splurge, dine out, gave up owning an automobile. I can see how one can get into debt real quick, something I religiously avoid.

If the Royal Mint stops minting the Sovereign, they are acknowledging the financial chaos. They will not stop, they will reduce the mintage and a very few people will have the money to buy them.

I agree @ronaldoavelino, such a beautiful coin and so much history!
One of my favorites.....So much so that like a phone number I have the Gold content memorized .2354 LOL😀

Upvoted & Resteemed, for posterity sake.

Maybe I will start looking for earlier years.

I agree with you that the financial crash is just around the corner, plus I do think Liz is on her last legs, so could be the last sovereign.

Im working my way back through your videos and is this the sovereign that you're giving away in your latest video? I'll definitely give it a great home 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78