Book Club #1 - Minimalism by The Minimalists Review (Life Improvement)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


BOOK CLUB: EP 1

This year I have been putting a lot of effort into reading more books...well listening to books via audible while I drive but I think it's equally useful (depending on what type of a learner you are). Anyways, because I have been reading more books I have decided to start a book club series where I make an episode for each good book I read! This first one is about the book Minimalism by the Minimalists!

This book is GREAT for people who are first deciding that they want to make steps towards living a more positive life and do more things for themselves (investing their time into themselves). If you are a bit more advanced and have read quite a few books about valuing yourself, your friends, prioritizing, learning, investing time, etc. you may not need this book as much. I do have to say that even while I have read a lot of this info before, they addressed the concepts in a great way that refreshed my perspective!

I think that this book is DEFINITELY worth the read and will get you thinking about things in a way that triggers your adventure into self-improvement and self discovery. I hope you guys enjoy this first episode of the book club - the next book will be the Tao of Charlie Mung (a business book).

Thanks steem fam!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've seen the documentary! Is the book also worthy? I think minimalism is still very underestimated. I've been giving away more clothing in the past few years and also been cleaning up other stuff that I had around the house. It really helps me having a clearer mind. Good to see you here by the way Brian. I hope more vegans will join the Steemit community soon.

Cheers!

I honestly think that the book is 100x better because while some films can dive into things with a lot of depth, I think this documentary was about 50% depth and 50% film beauty (focus on making the film look pretty). But I guess it depends on how much you want to receive from it, because the doc still raises some really good points!

THANKS MAN! It's really good to see community building and having people genuinely supporting! Vegans will be here in droves soon! :D

I will see if I can get the book on audible.

YAY! Vegans, stand up!

I fully share your thoughts, I think that reading is the best way to enrich your soul! You're a great one!

I agree, it's an art that has been lost in some but regained in others. I'm thankful my being has finally started to read more

Will give it a read, thanks

Glad to post this!

Well thought out post. Many secrets can be unlocked simply by reading. Amazing post

I should try out audible and participate in the book club. I've been consuming more audio content recently like podcasts so might as well add this in.

YES! Love seeing book clubs on here, though I've never been great at actually joining them! I've read some blog posts by the Minimalists but didn't know they had a book, there's some good ideas there.

If you're a book lover, you might be interested in a new contest I'm starting:

ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #1 📖

Yes, I enjoyed the first episode of your book club - please give me more ;) I'm also into this minimal thing and it is interesting to learn from myself, where you can life a minimalist lifestile and where not. Last year, I got rid of a lot of stuff that I didn't need and rethought my purchase behaviour a lot. And what can I say: it feels good and it gives me relieve not to have so much things around.

So tell me: are there also coming reviews of fiction or are you more into non-fiction?

This is not a new, but still a valuable thought. I made a cut and gave all my belongings away and left my home town and country with nothing than a bag. After all I realised that wasn't the best decision. In general it helps to clear your surroundings by thinking f what you really need or not. That also forces you to analyse and reflect about your current situation. Minimalism is the futire as we cannot afford to waste ressources in a world getting smaller! Great !

Great video, thanks. I read a lot, listen to the podcast of "The minimalists" regularly and loved their Netflix documentary. However, never made it to actually read one of their books haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81