You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The core concepts of DTube's new blockchain

in #dtube5 years ago

I'm a little late to the party but I must say I'm very impressed and this was an extremely interesting read. I became frustrated with DTube and stopped trying to use it back in March but I read this entire post and all the comments and I'm excited.

There were a lot of things that you mentioned that I'm seriously 100% on the same page with. For instance not having the Power UP or a dollar pegged coin. I can't even count how many times where people were super confused with the difference between Steem Power, STEEM, and STEEM Dollars even after they had been on the platform for 6 months.

I'm with you on the thinking that Powering Up the coins actually provides a very negative reaction for investors. SCORUM has a 12 month power down cycle and that is simply way too long. 3 Months on STEEM is too long and provides absolutely no value. If there was a staking procedure I could see 3 days or a week or something but if you can solve it by just keeping it liquid then that is awesome.

Also I'm with you on not wanting to fight over resources on a shared chain. That has been one of the biggest issues with EOS and Ethereum. The advantage is clearly liquidity and and already built in on ramp. Like you said though, this couldn't be built on STEEM or EOS.

The part about the rewards continuing for indefinitely is HUGE. 7 day payouts just really kills things. I'm still getting paid from YouTube videos I put up in 2012.

Creating a moving target so bots can't just take over is another big thing I liked about your post. I have said for a long time that Steemit Inc could have at least kept mixing up the trending page. They could have said the number of upvotes by accounts with over 100sp, the amount of comments by accounts with reps higher than 50, the amount of views, and amount of resteems would rank higher on trending or some way of mixing up the trending page to take the power away from the bidbots and then keep changing and tweaking it but they just kept it as stake weight for 3 years and ran their own investment into the ground. To me it was insane.

Also I like your approach of not utilizing KYC to determine if a person is a real person. Block One is shooting themselves in the foot by trying to use that method for Voice in my opinion. It is unlikely I will even sign up for it.

I'm super excited to see how all this works and how much demand is driven to DTC. I'm still a little fuzzy conceptually on if this will allow the best content to rise up and get paid the most or not. Just because people could vote at all different times. Sometimes I'm watching a video and it could be a couple minutes in and a person can say something I like and I will like it on YouTube. Also I'm imagining someone can still run an auto voter on this chain for creators they want to support.

I guess my thinking is if the algorithm doesn't take into account how long a person watches the video for , how many views it gets, and how many comments it gets then it is hard to determine if it is someone really engaged or not. So much of YouTube's algorithm seems to be about engagement to where even if someone hits the thumbs down and says the person is a complete idiot it is still engagement and YouTube still rewards that.

I have thought a lot about the subject of how it changes a person's behavior when the curators are getting paid and whether they genuinely see value and like the content or if they are just jumping on board because they know other people are piling on the upvotes and so they do to so they can get a piece of the money. Where as on YouTube and Reddit the people aren't getting paid to currate so it is a totally different value exchange. They are exchanging their time for entertainment or knowledge with no expectation of a monetary kickback.

It is kind of like when I'm talking to a woman. I have to gold digger test her by acting like I'm somewhat broke to see if she is still interested. If she still wants to hang out thinking I'm broke I know she is really into me. If someone on YouTube watching my video and thanks me and tells me how they trust my opinion with no expectation of getting a monetary kick back I truly know they really liked the video.

I just think that dynamic is going to be hard to tell through this type of curation system. Only time will tell how it works out.

I'm excited to see what happens though!!! Great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99