Bazaruto Prawn and Cucumber "Sushi" Roll - A BraaiBoy TV Recipe

in #dtube5 years ago


↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑ Click to view video ↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑
First Up: If you're viewing this from a Facebook or Twitter link, and you haven't joined Steemit yet, then please do so now... and subscribe to my @dtube channel.

Yes, you can braai sushi

I didn't know this, but Sushi doesn't necc. imply raw fish... that's Sashimi. When a friend of mine suggested we try out some Sushi-Style prawn rolls, I immediately objected. You see... I've never enjoyed raw fish/"sushi"... but it turns out that the recipe required the prawns to be cooked, which then meant it wasn't sushi, right? Wrong!

Sushi

The word sushi literally means "sour-tasting"... and refers to the vinegar-rice that it is made with. Snopes.com sums it up nicely:

Contrary to popular belief, sushi does not mean raw seafood. Instead, the word refers to the vinegared rice that can (but need not) be paired with raw seafood.

Prawn Cucumber (sushi-looking) Rolls

In this episode of BraaiBoy TV, I recreate the dish from that night... Technically, it's not sushi either (since it doesn't use the vinegar-rice), but it looks a lot like something you would find in a sushi bar... and it's a delicious starter/snack for your next braai.

Making the marinade
Braaing the prawns
rolled up in cucumber slices
Almost ready to snack

... and that's how I figured out that I actually DO eat Sushi :P

THANK YOU

  • A huge shoutout to Bazaruto Seafoods in Groenkloof for hooking us with all the delicious ingredients... there really is no better place to get seafood in Pretoria.
  • Shoutout as always to Jimmy's Sauces for sponsoring and making the shooting of the episode possible.

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


Liked the video/Recipe? Maybe you thought it was crap?

Either way, let me know in the comments below.

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free & win STEEM/SBD

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect elsewhere as well:

WhaleShares: https://whaleshares.io/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BraaiBoy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/BraaiBoy

View Printable Recipes on my website:

http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yes, you keep surprising me! When I saw the title I though "no, he can not put sushi on the grill", but after reading it, it made perfect sense

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha... thanks for watching. Yeah, I've been using "sushi" wrong for years now.

Guess what someone is making for us in Mozambique next week.
#STRAB

I'm sure that can be arranged!

Hi, @braaiboy!

You just got a 1.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @braaiboy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.840 which ranks you at #4230 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 41 places in the last three days (old rank 4271).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 385 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I can't believe you didn't know the difference between sushi and sashimi!

I love both and if I can get really fresh tuna or salmon, I'll eat it fresh, like sashimi with a little soy sauce, wasabi and, of course, that divine pickled ginger. Before I tasted it, I thought I'd HATE it.

I'm going to give that sushi a go: I'd do two things differently.

  1. lose the paprika
  2. replace the chilli with a little smear of wasabi inside on the cucumber. This is a bit how they do it in Japan - the wasabi is not served on the side, it's on the nori which is the layer after the vinegar rice, and before the salmon or whatever is the next layer.

I didn't know this last bit when I ate sushi in Japan and for my first mouthful, had a double dose of Wasabi. Suffice it to say, I drank quite a bit of saki to compensate!

Lekker!

nicely presented. Those rolls can be done with salmon too, i guess?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81