Drunken Smokey Chicken Wings - Oakheart rum sauce - A BraaiBoy TV Recipe

in #dtube5 years ago


↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑ Click to view video ↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑
First Up: If you're viewing this from a Facebook or Twitter link, and you haven't joined Steemit yet, then please do so now... and subscribe to my @dtube channel.

A New Sauce - WITH RUM ;-)

When it comes to making food, the best discoveries more often than not come about by accident.

And the Oakheart Rum Sauce from this episode is a perfect example of one such happy accident. I teamed up with Bacardi Oakheart Rum for a new rum-infused sauce for a Rump Roll that I want to add to the BB Bistro menu.



One of the experiments I was going to try out called for a fair amount of sugar as well as lime in the ingredient list. I overdid both of them, and the result was something WAAAYYY off what I had imagined... BUT IT WAS GOOD!!!

So... In my opinion, the sauce was too sweet and too 'citrussy' for the rump roll, but I took it to one of the markets I attended anyway, and asked the public to help me decide between the 3. No surprise, very few people that ordered a rump roll went with the sweet-citrus option... BUT... everyone loved it... some going in for 2nd & 3rd tastings.



3 Oakheart Rum Sauces at Market @ The Sheds Market

The sauce was just TOO GOOD to bin, so I decided to try it on chicken wings... made more sense in my head, and when I finally got around to tasting it at the end of the episode I was not disappointed! I think I've just found my new favourite chicken wing recipe... and now I just need to figure out how I make it feasible to work into the menu :P

So... Please check out the video and let me know what you think. Even better... try it out yourself and then come back and Thank Me :-)

So there's no Rum Rump Roll ?

Fear not... while both the other sauces in the experiment were delicious, the one stood out head and shoulders above the other, so the next time you're at either Platteland BB Bistro or any of the markets/festivals I attend, swing on by and come taste the sauce that won.

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


Liked the video/Recipe? Maybe you thought it was crap?

Either way, let me know in the comments below.

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free & win STEEM/SBD

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect elsewhere as well:

WhaleShares: https://whaleshares.io/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BraaiBoy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/BraaiBoy

View Printable Recipes on my website:

http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That sounds divine! Would probably also work with pork - with a little ginger.

BTW, how did it go on Friday?

It will definitely work a charm on some lekker pork chops!

Re Friday: The soft launch was a HUGE success... people are loving the prego-style Rum Rump Rolls. The official launch is going down this Friday. #Excited

Pity don't have some. The Husband's lighting a fire: pork neck chops on the braai tonight. Will have to make do with Jimmy's Sauce LOL

That is pretty awesome. My wife and I have a shredded bbq chicken recipe that we enjoy that I occasionally work some Captain Morgan into the sauce. It usually turns out really well.

Got that shredded chicken recipe written down somewhere? Share it with us?
... and yeah... "I love cooking with booze... sometimes I even use it in my recipes" ;-)

Haha! It is basically just chicken boiled and then shredded. You could cook it anu way you want really. We mix it with some carmelized onions, a little chicken stock, some BBQ sauce and sometimes a little Captain Morgan. It's super tasty!

Posted using Partiko Android

Now that is a sauce I could love! It is unfortunate the alcohol boils off in the cooking but is might just pour myself a drink while eating it!

Posted using Partiko iOS


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @braaiboy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.815 which ranks you at #4443 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 252 places in the last three days (old rank 4695).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @braaiboy!

You just got a 0.9% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You know your recipe is a hit when people keep coming back for more! Your so right about the best creations being accidents, pretty well everything in baking comes from some form of accidental discovery including the use of yeast for leavened products all together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87