[dtube] Blockchain for Gaming - Interview with the Enjin Coin CTO

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Today I got a chance combine my gaming development experience and crypto knowledge by picking the brains of Witek Radomski, CTO of Enjin. Enjin Coin allows server owners and game developers to easily issue blockchain backed game items, creating an ecosystem for gaming items that go beyond a single server and even individual games. As excited as I am, I had some pressing questions about how the system would work and the incentives for game developers. I got the chance to ask Witek these hard questions!
https://enjincoin.io

Disclosure: This is not paid post. I have been talking to them with regards to future community building.


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You guys mentioned Diablo II and Stone of Jordans, do you guys remember d2jsp? It was a way to trade in-game items for out of the realm currency called forum gold (fg).

Exactly! thats what this blockchain thing is tryign to do, tryign to be the fg :D

my friend used to have a windforce.. but lost it due to inactivity

This is what I envisioned gaming and blockchain coming together would be like, I play a lot of games that enjoy the economic aspect and act of building and saving wealth in video game economies, I always wanted ways to capture and transfer wealth earned in one game to a new game! I hope some good games come out of this.

Absolutely love the idea as well, the only danger is that if the popularity of the game wanes, then most likely their respective cryptocurrency will as well.. then all the time and energy you've spent acquiring it will go down the drain. Don't mean to be a negative nancy hehe, just thinking out loud since most online games - even the major ones that have been around for years - don't seem to stay popular forever.

I don't know a ton about this, but it seems there are a bunch of different game related cryptos now, DOGE (sort of), GAME, Skincoin (https://cointelegraph.com/press-releases/gaming-cryptocurrency-for-esports-industry-skincoin-announces-crowdsale-on-june-21-2017), and I remember hearing about a couple others. For me it's hard to say which one is the "best" although perhaps there's room for several as long as they each have a unique angle.

Good video. Funny. Keep sharing. Upvoted

Watched this earlier today. Really interesting - thanks a lot. I can see a lot of very valuable applications for this.

Hey @boxmining - if we want to reach out to your privately, what's the best way to contact you?

Normally I'd totally ignore ICOs. Too risky for my liking. I'd rather speculate on coins and token that have been around for a while. Plus have a reasonably active discussion group at Reddit etc.

But when Boxmining mentions it, and given Michael's credibility and record, I'll give it a closer look. However, I will likely wait for it to be listed at Bittrex and such.

Major announcement coming for Komodo Coin (KMD) on the Bittrex.com crypto-exchange Friday! Komodo has great unanimous tech.

Click the link for more info: https://komodoplatform.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57