2 Minutes with the Farmer: Making Bird Boxes for Natural Pest Control!!!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are going to show you the bird boxes we make for natural pest control here on the farm. We have made 200 of these bird boxes for our farm and the results have been amazing. We have almost no mosquitoes around the house and the fly numbers have gone way down. This simple natural way to control insects has been great for us. Hope you all give it a try.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Howdy sir Farmer! wow what a brilliant idea! thefarmerswife came up with that didn't she? lol.
So where all do you put them? Are you talking about putting them in the pastures too? I thought that part of the video was very incomplete so I have to take some points off for leaving us wondering.

Like you put them just on the outside of buildings or on trees in the pastures or what? And do you have to maintain them? The removable door would indicate that but again it was an incomplete presentation that i will have to deduct points for.
Plus you had your dad there doing all the work! lol!

You figured out my secret. My dad does all the work;) Thanks for all the video ideas. You will have to stay tuned to get the answers in more videos.

haha! I'm thankful you have a good sense of humor sir Farmer! lol.

I appreciate all your comments;)

thank you sir I appreciate all that you do, it's quite remarkable how many things you're into. I ran my voting power down to 52% last night so I stopped voting on the last couple of posts you did, in case you notice things like that...well that's the reason why!

I am just trying to make a living. All these little projects are either to save money or make money. I do not care about the upvote. Just appreciate you taking an interest

Well sir, you are doing a fantastic job! I have you set up on autovote but I keep dropping in power below what I have set up on that! lol.

Thanks for the auto vote. I am honored;)

dang I just noticed that you are at rep66! great job! lol. soon you will be in the rarified air of the rep70s!

It takes a lot longer once u get up in the 60s. You will be an 80 before I get 70;)

After you put up the first round of boxes last year, how did you attract birds to nest in them? And if you didn't do anything then how long did it take for the birds to find the boxes?

Do you have to clean them out every year?

Posted using Partiko Android

We have had them up for 5 years. The birds just find them. After the second year every box was full. We are putting more up this year

Sorry for so many questions....but after they find them do they live in them year around? And is there any additional maintenance you have to do once the box goes up?

They only live in them for the summer. The only maintenance is to clean out the old nest every year. We usually do that in the winter.

Wow.
200?
You should open the business for extra income, he he.
Put the bird tag under your post. Steemit bird lovers will like this.

Never thought about selling them. I changed my tag. Thanks for the help

You are one busy dude :-)

Keeps me out of trouble;)

WHOA 200 bird boxes, wow. And do you bird seeds or bird food in there? Or it's just for them to use and the birds eat the flies and mosquitos just like that?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is just for them to nest in. There rent is to eat all the insects;)

Hehe seems very practical indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

You Learn More From Failure Than From Success. Don't Let It Stop You. Failure Builds Character.

That is a great way to handle pesky insects!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85