My Local DTube IPFS is Up & Running (1TB) - Help Decentralize DTube!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

So... I just got my DTube IPFS up and running... It was very simple to do, and I suspect most anyone could do it, even with very basic computer skills! All you need is a laptop, seriously, and you can help decentralize DTube. So what are you waiting for!?

dtube.png

My Local Machine

Dell Laptop 16GB RAM 1.5 TB SSD (Anything will do!)
Location: My office building with reliable and fast Internet.
Steemit Account: https://steemd.com/@ipfs01
That's all you really need.

How To Run Your Own IPFS

How to install IPFS for DTube

  • Download IPFS 4.10 for Windows
  • Unzip
  • Run the config.bat file
  • Allow IPFS via your firewall settings.
  • Config will run until you are prompt to enter your hard-drives dedicated IPFS volume size in GB (1000 in my case) for storing pinned videos.
  • Open Chrome (I recommend)
  • Navigate to https://dtube.video and login (required)
  • Go To Settings -> Local IPFS to verify you are now running your IPFS!
  • Run dtube.bat on the next start up.

Manual Pinning of DTube Videos

Just up vote videos via https://dtube.video or Steemit that you'd like to pin! This is very simple and recommended for users with low dedicated storage space.
Upvote your favorite authors to help serve and decentralize the videos!

UpVote Bot Pinning DTube Videos

What I did is create this little python script that will up vote every video uploaded to Dtube, pinning that video onto my local IPFS. I'm starting with this for a trial period until I come up with some specifications to selecting videos.

from piston.steem import Steem
steem = Steem(wif = 'YOURKEY')
tags = ['dtube']
for p in steem.stream_comments():
  for tag in tags:
     try:
        if p.is_main_post() and tag in p["category"]:
           print("New DTube Video: @" + p["author"] + "/" + p["permlink"])
           vote = p.upvote(weight = 30.00, voter = "YOURUSERNAME")
           print("Upvoted & Pinned DTube Video by @"+vote["operations"][0][1]["author"]+" via @"+vote["operations"][0][1]["voter"])
     except:
        print()

Cycling Videos

I plan on creating a new DTube Gateway with the help of @heimindanger eventually... but for now, I will hold the most recent 1TB of videos (the newest videos) and remove the pinned backup of old videos as new ones come in. With the limited space of the laptop and not wanting to jump in with buying a massive server just yet... this will have to be my plan.


DQmdbhN3y64jrWwLXKbB19rFV1BnrHnnWnZABtn3573Yzdu.gif
1. Go to the Witness Voting Page on Steemit.com
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and locate the vote box
vote.png
3. Type (blueorgy) in the box and click vote.

Sort:  

Hello There 😉

👍 I'll be upvoting every video posted on DTube! 🤑

Loading...

Honestly? I appreciate the intention but I don't think it does good for the Steemit ecosystem.

Thanks bro! I was wondering why you were upvoting so much, thanks again!

Hey Thanks Buddy!

what is the purpose of IPFS. ? i am newbie can you plz explain it

IPFS has a couple benefits. One is that it's a caching system for the internet, but the other half of that is that each file on IPFS is matched to a hash so it knows when it's looking for the same file. This is why it's known as the 'Permanent' web, because every time you request the same hash, you should get the exact same file.

thankx brother :) well shared.

But I did not received UPVOTE !!

Hi!, just 8 people own half the world's wealth. Be the one to start freeing yourself and your friends from the monetary dictatorship by 1) Joining and expanding Free Collaboration Networks and 2) Raising awareness about the solutions. Let's get this message to go viral! Your part is crucial, the whole world thanks you! https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vilnZIJsKZTAxEOm-zyVBT7NeVlFbmomZXezHtQsZi4/edit #RBGEsolutions #RBGE #RBE #GiftEconomy

Thanks, now i am running one with 3mbp/s upload speed and 50 gb of storage shared.
A tinny help, but is the decentralized spirit i guess ;)
soon i gonna add more gb, my disk needs a good clean up

I would absolutely share some of my 100mbs up/down to help this project. What are the chances you are willing to try to scale this down to Raspberry Pi ? If you were able to create an image, that anyone could download, and with very little effort, simply copy the image to their micro-sd card, boot the pi, make a few changes to their network settings, open a port on their router and have a d-tube load sharing device with a small footprint, low power consumption and be ready to rock?

I have ipfs on my server running. It has 2 SSD and consume 9.5 W without load. Its is fan-less server based on this board. Running on Linux mint xfce.

Wow thank You! Didnt know we have such tech avaiable.
Mayby Do overall post about what cheap low watt but powerfull enough cpus are out there to help stream Dtube, because now its easy, but when it gets popular there will be need to setup lots of comps for broadcast!

Which board is that? I can't make out the model number.

That's a really good idea. I will put it on the todo list for my PiTube project. Thanks!

Right on! Obviously, for those of us, slightly less proficient folk (from a networking perspective), it would need to be really easy to implement. As an example, I wanted to help the ToR project by offering up some bandwidth for an exit/entry node using Pi, but because there was a lack of easy to follow instructions, and total lack of an easily downloadable .img file, I could never wrangle it. Or I should say, I got frustrated and gave up.

I think that the "carrot on a stick" approach would be brilliant. In other words, you create an image that anyone can download. We download it, get the Pi up and running, and with little effort, get the node set up and able to handshake with the mothership and begin load sharing. Using some form of positive (device) ID like the mac address(?), the mothership can monitor up time for each node. Using a sliding scale of sorts, individuals with nodes running for hours, days, weeks or months at a time, are rewarded with Steem.

It seems like a wonderful way for individuals to "bet" on the system, and be rewarded for sharing their bandwidth, hardware and electricity.

Furthermore, tying the node to a user account, would also provide the ability for the mothership to monitor system "health" in a way that should a particular node go down, a bot emails the user to prompt them to reboot the node, or otherwise take action to get it back online.

Thinking a little bit further outside of the box, perhaps an app can be written that would allow the user to monitor node status and health remotely on their mobile devices, and would allow them to reboot the node remotely?

The faster these Pi and other similar devices get, the more they are potentially capable of doing.

I am so NOT technically savvy when it comes to networking particulars, but I am hip enough to waddle through easy to understand instructions, and have at least 30 Pi(2) units up and running on a daily basis at work. I use them as simple video playback devices using a version of "videolooper" on the set of the TV show I work on.

Anyway, please keep me posted. I am all about beta testing this with you as you get further along.

Respectfully,

My bud @blueorgy always ahead of the game...thanks for sharing

DTube looks very cool, have been browsing it and watching videos hosted by other steemians on there, the future is awesome!

Loading...

DTube is great we already start uploading videos in 720p and they work great, we hope for some basic features gone come soon on to the platform. Things like better profile, playlists, filters gan give much better user experience

Check our videos on @BIP131 chanell

As a new Dtuber making the switch from Youtube to Steemit and DTube, I understand that to make it more viable and robust an experience for creator and viewer alike, I will have to throw my weight in where I can. Should I begin making something off of either my Dtube or Steem Coin investments, I will use half of my proceeds to this end. I will buy a dedicated server and upgrade as I go. I need to move as well. My internet is shotty due to some lightning strikes that occurred during a storm. Lots of lines to replace and comcast dragging their feet with replacing them. Either way that is the plan. I hope to contribute more than content as soon as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65