Dear Top 20 Steem Witnesses, Why are you powering down ?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hey all, Like what the title said, I've been going thru the witness list and adjusting my votes then I started to realize that MOST of the top 20 witnesses are powering down.

Is there something which you know that we don't?

As part of the community, I felt that its pretty concerning that most of the 20 top witnesses are dropping their stake if it's for a good reason like keeping up with costs of server maintenance and all then we totally understand.

Is it because that you have lost confidence in Steem and the new owners of Steemit Inc?

I'd love to know your thoughts and if it really is because of the new acquisition which is causing the mass power-downs.

Cheers guys and I hope to hear from you. Tagging top 20 to hope to hear your views.

@yabapmatt
@timcliff
@someguy123
@themarkymark
@gtg
@blocktrades
@roelandp
@lukestokes.mhth
@smooth.witness
@cervantes
@good-karma
@thecryptodrive
@steempeak
@anyx
@aggroed
@ocd-witness
@ausbitbank
@therealwolf
@emrebeyler
@clayop


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

mrbitrocker2020.jpg

Hahaha man that is funny and sad at the same time 😅

Haha can’t I just make one token that can surf them all ? Steem, Eos, tron Eth , btc ( hmmm maybe in few years)

First, It really needs to be understood that Witnesses are rewarded in SP for producing blocks. Most need to power down a small amount consistently to pay for servers and expense of actually running a witness node.

You should know this as you ran one, so to not at least explain this in the post I find a bit frustrating.

Most of the witnesses you mentioned have done this consistently and attempting to alude it’s the sky falling a concerning.

Also, It’s not shocking that many investors (which many witnesses are) would respond to an announcement like Tron put out in a defensive way. The communication coming out was not at all reassuring for anyone holding STEEM imo.

While communication has opened up, many of those mixed messages are still out there. Perhaps they just want to protect their investment if it comes to that.

Hopefully the consensus witnesses will put out a statement in the future, but I think communication has been pretty good from their end on the acquisition matters so far.

thanks for stating your views on this, i guess having a clear communication is best and as part of the community, i really wanted to know and not just assume however it would really strengthen the consensus witness position they do put out a statement for future communication like what you've suggested. I do know some are already doing it, however there are a few which does not engage with the community. Cheers and have a great day

I think posts as this made by @bitrocker2020 is important at least to gather such informative comments like yours. It is well educating.

Posted via Steemleo

I suspect they are trying to sell some Steem at the higher prices to pay for running nodes. By powering down a lot of Steem they get some Steem to sell in a week.

Interesting. Yesterday, I urged my followers to cast their witness votes, saying that pretty much anyone from the top 30 should be a safe choice but I didn´t think of this... I wonder if/what they reply. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

I’ve never powered down my main account (lukestokes) but I usually power down my witness account to pay for servers. Nothing was changed based on the Tron news.

Thanks for the reply Luke... And noted. BTW.. Liked ur tweet on getting #TronArmy to show up.

Thanks and yeah, that was fun to see that tweet go viral.

Hey there,

I power down a little bit to cover some server costs. Running 5 servers for my witness infra & steem related projects. Sometimes I power down a couple of weeks and cover for them.

Thanks for this brave quest. It is a call to accountability as a set representing the masses. Thank you!

Posted via Steemleo

Most of them you listed are my withnes. What is happening?

Good business move. Accumulate a bit of liquid Steem to be ready for an anticipated post Tron announcement pump.

你好鸭,bitrocker2020!

@bossku给您叫了一份外卖!

@davidchen 勇敢 迎着台风 开着宝马 给您送来
水果月饼

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54276.23
ETH 2281.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35