You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coinbase Launches BCH & Trades At $9,500? / Charlie Lee Sells All His LTC / Monero On Ledger Wallet

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

If you believe that the face behind the coin needs to keep his stake in the game for it to succeed, you are missing the point of the movement. Charlie Lee is a visionary that understands that as long as he had an investment tied to the project, he would potentially hold back on risks vs rewards. He is also a firm believer in the decentralized nation of crypto. Everyone knows he created litecoin, so everyone thinks of him as the CEO or an ambassador. He saw litecoin as turning into another bcash and didn't want to be attached to the same sorts of conversations as Roger Ver. Litecoin will continue to grow with or without his holdings. That's the whole point of all of this after all. It's not anyone's business what he spends his money on. Didn't you buy your first bitcoin (now Monero, Verge or ZCash) to get away from people being able to monitor how you spend your money? Or just as an "investment" platform since it went mainstream. He doesn't owe anyone an explanation and I am sure litecoin will be just fine!

Sort:  

I never said "the face behind the coin needs to keep his stake in the game for it to succeed" or that he owes me an explanation. I'm not questioning his actions, I'm saying his explanation makes no sense. This is simply not a case of conflict of interest, as I said, and the fact that he said that it was is extremely concerning.

I see what you are saying about risks vs. rewards, but it cuts both ways - he could theoretically throw caution into the wind and try something super risky, because if it fails, it doesn't really matter to him that much.

He's not a close personal friend of mine, so I can't rebut other than what I read on his twitter feed, but litecoin seems to be very close to his heart from what I can tell. I don't think he will let any harm come to his baby. He never bad talks bitcoin either and knows where his coin stands in the marketcap listing as well. He is very humble, outspoken and blunt. He should be able to pull his litecoin out and make a profit from his work. I wasn't putting words in your mouth and didn't mean it to come off as such either. I was just inputting my opinion! Charlie Lee is free to do as he wishes with his money, and he shouldn't have to explain himself.

I agree 100%! I think it's great he can make (spendable) money from his work.

One of my all time favorite tweets from him. "If a single person's tweet can decline the price of an asset, it didn't deserve that price to begin with." He is humble and honest to a fault.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41