You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Exclusive - BuzzSteem Ep. 37 [Is Steemit Really Decentralized?]

in #dtube7 years ago

That's amazing that you are doing such cool stuff with the @freshfive! Yeah, I was mainly covering their concerns with getting people to join, as opposed to how the people are doing on here once they are here. (Though they could always use more help, a lot of the newbies could.) They have a serious PR problem with the rest of the world, as Nigeria has kind of become an untrustworthy place when dealing with people online. (I bet if I checked my email right now there would be at least a couple of spam emails from someone claiming to be a Nigerian Prince that only needs $40 to be able to send me the lottery that I won but never entered.) Just like with America being the laughing stock of the world for lots of different things, Nigeria is fighting this image problem of untrustworthiness online, and it has bled over into its own people who have been burned through these pyramid schemes. So, really feel for them, because I know as an American how it feels when you are represented in a light that doesn't reflect who you are personally just because of where you live!

As far as decentralization, I am also not upset or concerned about Steemit being more centralized, I just don't really like the idea of it becoming my go-to everything. I am very much so a capitalist at heart, and I still believe in good ole healthy competition. I would be devastated if Steem took over as a monopoly for everything, but I also really highly doubt that will happen!