Lady Steem Chat: How Haejin Could Destroy Dtube

in #dtube6 years ago


Hello friends!
Just a friendly PSA from the one and only Lady Steem!

I am not sure if you have been on Dtube's trending page today, but if you haven't, go there now. Tell me what you see!

Is it the same squiggly looking colorful lines over black background videos? Both in the trending and hot sections? (I know they are called graphs, but I have to keep somewhat of my luddite appearance bahaha)

The creator of these videos is none other than @haejin and it appears that he has made his way for the first time, to dtube.

Hooray, you may be thinking, he has 27k followers, and makes awesome vids about what cryptocurrencies to bank on. (That's all relative by the way.) Yes, it is true that he has a huge amount of followers, and that he does make posts that are popular, but this is a serious problem guys.

Right now, @dtube uses an algorithm that boosts posts that fit into it. I am not sure exactly what that consists of, but I am assuming that it has something to do with the amount that a post makes which constitutes that it is "hot" or "trending". At the rate in which Haejin posts, he could literally take up nearly every space on the "hot" and "trending" pages, leaving people with only the ability to see the videos from users they have subscribed to.

Now, he may not continue to use Dtube, so I may be overreacting. Call me an alarmist if you'd like, but I thought I would at least get some noggin's ticking about the issue, and get some feedback about solutions if this really is going to be a thang.

If nothing else, it reveals the danger in some ways of algorithmic post promotion based on amount of money earned vs. views etc. It would be quite easy to manipulate the trending and hot pages if you had enough money.

As always, thanks for watching!

xx~Lady Steem


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It was only a matter of time. But Dtube writes the code so they could blacklist individuals if they choose to follow this path.

And RanchoRelaxo is Haejin or at the very least a business partner.

His upvoting is not a random event.

Agreed. Though it's unlikely dtube will opt to do anything. They deliberately skipped over my post. Anything that doesn't paint blockchain, Steemit or Dtube in the best light tends to get buried. We can pretend like this won't be a problem, but it exists whether we want to address it or not.

I actually don't think it's the same person... but they absolutely have brokered a business deal. @pawsdog found some wallet conversations about it.

Well, this is terribly horrible news. Do you think he'll take all the @dtube upvotes as well as all the spots on the Trending and Hot pages? Arrrgh, this whole thing still makes me so mad.

I don't think Dtube is upvoting him, but it doesn't matter whether they do or not. Unless they start upvoting all videos at 100% that they think are good enough to be on the trending page, you can't compete with the huge upvote he is getting. They are not taking this seriously enough.

If anybody would like to be part of the community effort to flag Haejin for his collusive voting and reward pool exploitation, please check out @flagawhale. We pay downvoters back with post rewards!

Since this has started, over $21 THOUSAND SBD has been recovered back to the pool. What does it take for abusers to win? Good people to do nothing. Let's do something about it.

@bethwheatcraft, thanks for having the guts to talk about this. Going to promote this on the Flag'A'Whale discord. Feel free to let us know if you catch any downvotes as they are prone to do.

Also, you do not have to flag to be part of this movement. Upvoting the battle updates to support those that do is how you can get "in the fight" and, of course, spreading the word helps!

On point I have been fearing this for along time, Dtube downvote would solve the issue? Yet we would all suffer.

Trying to stay neutral on this subject is impossible as it affects us all.
#OneLoveDtube

Very nice writing . How could i destroy dtube. You did good analysis. Before i had no knowledge . Thanks for share this special post.

Hmmm - food for thought hey!

I think there is alot of work to be done on the steem blockchain in general with the algorithms that decide what we see in our feed. I'm not sure how much work is being done? I find it hard to keep up with developers conversations.

Ok now this is what I heard you can correct me if I am wrong.... but Dtube take 25% for every cut of a video. So now that haejin is posting on the platform, I don't think that they will do anything, on the contrary the way they will see it is more revenue for them. As long as they keep sharing the wealth with other content creators that is ok. DTube seems like a different universe compared to the steemit platform, as a large majority hate the trending pages, and it is only those who are a little more uneducted that effectively are and will continue to chase the whales.
Now literally before I watched your video (nice garden btw) I was just thinking about what will impact the steem price going up, and now all I can think of is celebrities joining the platform which would attract more people and drive the price up, but what celebrity wants to join a decentralized platform where we post uncensored info, that anyone who has dirt on them could potentially post it. I have no idea about this right now.

His all followers newcomers and Inexperienced. Without @ranchorelaxo's upvotes his all posts are worthless. @haejin should be banned.

you are useless, we will never listen to you!!!

Make sure you downvote all of @Haejin's scammy post!!!

Screenshot (85)_LI.jpg


woo-hoo-made-5aacb4.jpg


YOU CAN EARN MORE MONEY ON STEEMIT BY DOWNVOTING @HAEJIN

VISIT @FLAGAWHALE FOR MORE DETAILS

Dude are u naked??

I assume you’re addressing this to me.

So actually, yes, I am naked.

But I’m in a dunk tank so it makes sense.

I’m in the dunk tank to raise funds for the guy that I think lives in my shed.

I think there’s a guy living in my shed because the salvia.

The salvia because the salvia.

The because the salvia because the salvia.

The the salvia the salvia.

Salvia salvia salvia salvia salvia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52