Dtube Chat: Could Steemit Eliminate Fake News?

in #dtube7 years ago


Hey guys!

I am equipped and ready today with my dtube shirt! Thanks @reseller for the awesome design! I love it!

I am also feeling pretty down today guys. Gah depression is such a bummer.

Anyway, today I wanted to talk to you about the beauty of Steemit being able to potentially eliminate fake news. It's strange, we are at a time in which we have so much information at the very tips of our fingers, but we are also drowning in that same information, because the truth has become so muddled within the lies. Facts are harder to find, and even more difficult to discern.

I do think however that blockchain could solve this. Not only will people be more hesitant to put out material if they know they can never retract it, but we also have the capacity to downvote material we know to be crap. The two combined should be an easy way to help eliminate fake news!

Anyway, hope this video finds you all well! Have a fantastic Wednesday friends!

Much love,

Beth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I don't think you'll ever get rid of fake news. It's one of those things that's just gonna happen to a certain degree. It always has, always will.

You may be right that the platform will discourage it, but there's always bound to be some, and I don't think it's worth worrying about that much. I think the danger of fake news has been inaccurately perceived as being a pressing matter ever since the 2016 election due to Trump's popularization of the phrase to hate on CNN, which then got co-opted by the Democrats when they lost in order to blame fake news for their loss, when really it was just a excuse to avoid taking responsibility for the mistakes of the Clinton campaign and the corruption of the DNC during the primaries, which is what actually caused their loss. Fake news was inconsequential by comparison.

I certainly don't want to see Steemit become obsessed with cracking down on fake news the way that the corporate social media companies have. It's what led to the current censorship trend, after all. It's easily co-opted to be used as a weapon against news stories that the majority (or even just a powerful minority) simply disagree with or dislike. I don't think it's healthy for a community to embrace that kind of judgment. If there's fake news stories, then there's fake news stories. Stay informed, get your information from multiple sources, learn how to fact check and research, etc... and you'll be fine.

I hope that can really happened with all the BS that is on social media.

I have been a victim of fake news, Recently I had difficulty accessing my steemit account, so in my desperation to know why, I stumbled on a news flash that steemit has shut down it's server. I almost lost my breath, I just wish steemit will devise a way to completely eliminate fake news.

Yeah I never thought about a new kind of fake news cropping up in the cryptosphere. That's a good point.

The Steem blockchain can still be accessed with another app. eSteem and Busy (and probably some others) are around if Steemit gets shut down by government.

Fake news can be rather harming where crypto is concerned. May we get the truth effectively. Just started following and have upvoted for you!

It would be great if we could get rid of the true fake news! I am worried that it can go both ways though. Someone that has a decent amount of SP could also do the same for non fake things and push any agenda they want. I just hope it all doesn't somehow turn into a vote war.

I enjoy these discussion videos it makes people think. I think its very good for the community and helps with ideas for improvement! Thanks for sticking with it!

I see this all the time still. Stories from years ago that continue to pop up out of context completely from the original story. I want to bang my head against the wall sometime. The worst are people that repost the Onion as if it were fact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86