BuzzSteem Ep. 20 - @bethwheatcraft [Stock Market Dive, Whales Stepping Up, New Year's Fails and Wins]

in #dtube7 years ago


Hey guys!
Today is episode 20! This is like the longest I have ever stuck with anything, so yay me...

Praise me, PRAISE! Bahaha.

Today I talked about:

  • How my videos may become less frequent if I make it into the police.

  • The Dow and the crypto markets being in the absolute gutter.

  • User @markymark and his crack down on user @nuoviso

  • The non-prevalence of @haejin in the majority of trending tags today.

  • People who break their new year's resolutions, and specific users on Steemit: @aussieninja, @just2random and @bigfatastro who don't!

And the Steemian of the day, meme curator, @javymike. He posts hilarious memes that make us all feel a little better during the FUD.

Thanks for watching guys, and helping me in my #fight4steem


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think that you will eventually run into a conflict between serving the force and serving Steemit. These spheres are on a head on collision because the police serves state interests whereas the underlying Steem tech is a direct repudiation of those values, and particularly those corrupt centralized interests that the architects of blockchain are attempting disintermediation against.

I have no idea of your motivations for wanting to join the force, but if it's financial, I think you'll do better in Steem in the long run.

I speak from personal experience. Many in my family have been former police and military. My fathers, mothers father was police commissioner for the city of Syracuse (a few decades before I was born). I think this is a picture of him lower right. The family name was Grieb...

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 12.34.16 AM.png

I would love to just make money from Steem, but we can hardly live on .65 cent payouts. Haha. Also, it may be a long time before crypto stabilizes, and its value becomes more predictable.

That's an awesome picture! Money is definitely a motivating factor behind joining the police, but I have been interested in law enforcement since I was little. I know it sounds cliche, but I do want to be able to help people. I am especially interested in helping to break up sex trafficking rings. We have a lot of them here in Phoenix because we are so close to the border. (I personally think it would immediately be beneficial to that problem if congress would just legalize prostitution, but since we have so many bible clutchers that ain't never going to happen. It would drastically reduce sex trafficking though, so it's a little disappointing that it's not really an option.)

I definitely can feel the tension between crypto and holding a state position like that, but I also don't feel like I have much of a choice. I am a college drop-out, who has been staying at home with her kids for 7 years, with only work from home experience since then. This job pays well, has benefits, and is ok with my lack of work experience. I also don't think it's such a bad thing to have more ladies on the force! It's a bit of a sausage fest, which doesn't always bode well for the type of position they are in! (That's coming straight from my male detective friend who told me he thought this would be a good position for me.) I also have a lot of Mars in my chart, and Patrick is surprised I wasn't already doing something like this when we met. (Though I had been training prior to having my first child and that just kind of delayed everything.)

I don't think you're not as far away from making it on Steem as you think. Within a year at the pace you're going you will have a self sustaining income.

Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

Thank you so much for my shoutout! Very much appreciated!

Do you take suggestions for news?

I found this all very interesting when you try and log into Steemit.chat...

I wasn't following @bigfatastro but I'm on it now! His thumbnails are already excellent, the dude has skillz!

Congratulations on your interview and good luck with the rest of the process... surely they want people with potentially-questionable histories... how can you police properly if you've never seen all the shades of life?

Great episode once again! You are killin' it!

Oh dang that's crazy!! I'm always taking news suggestions, and will definitely cover this today! And thanks!

Kickin a$$ and taking names. Good job. 😎

You are such a crazy cat, love listening to your ideas Beth. I hope that you get what you want joining the police force, I can't say I am jealous.

Haha indeed most people feel that way. It isn't the safest job, and in most places cops are pretty reviled, but it's something I have always wanted to do!

New original music; I always look forward to that and hope you do it.

The hubs and I are actually going to record a song tonight from our original musical we wrote for #openmic so that should be fun!

Good job, I've never done 20 of anything.

I can barely do 20 situps...

@jhoni has read your platform, thanks for sharing, and I like to follow @bethwheatcrsft

Props on the good interview!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30