How to Think Outside the Box

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


"Creativity & Spirituality in a World of Conformity"

A couple of years ago I was asked to give a speech at a corporate personal development conference called "Wired for Wonder" on the subject of "Thinking Outside of the Box".

This subject is very dear to me. As a born artist and rebellious thinker, I have often found myself lured into the security of systems - religious, philosophical, artistic.

In this talk I explore what I have learned about the affect that systems have on personal consciousness and autonomy, and why we ultimate need to set ourselves free from systemic thinking.

I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences in regards to systems and independent thinking.

@benleemusic


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Really great talk! I've never really been in a system, at least not in one that was "functioning" by its own definition, and especially not in the way that I really felt I was a part of it - but interestingly I've often envied people who are in such a system as religion, if they are in it fully convinced, because I've often felt that it would be comforting and in some ways an "easier" life.
For a very long time I've tried to be a part of systems, I guess, but none felt right and I've finally stopped trying not too long ago. At which point I felt that I had found the place that is right for me.
I am actually not sure what exactly made me question anything from the very beginning on, but maybe the reason actually was that there never had been a functioning system, that I've therefore very early questioned concepts of family (total mess so what is it good for and why I am here), God (not baptized, but read the Bible out of curiousity when I was seven or so - nice stories, but the concept didn't make sense), later education (especially the part when the own process of thinking is replaced by only quoting "some authority in the field", here probably Niklas Luhmann), and so on. Of course, I'm still part of systems - like the society I live in - but I feel more like an observer. I do very much like thought experiments to challenge "in the box thinking" of any kind, especially when it comes to decisions that are socially not only accepted, but expected, with which I've had some experience, e.g. a woman's decision to not want children (and be happy about it). I've learnt a lot about systems (and who "runs" systems) there.

Sounds like you had your priorities pretty straight early on! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! I'm actually not sure if they were straight early on, but I guess they are now. Funny thing: I just opened my notebook to go through some notes, thoughts, project ideas, and the first note I see (bit blurry, sorry):
IMG_2583.JPG

Yeah, I totally agree! I've been a rebel my whole life and very suspicious of any kind of organized systems of thought. Although I also studied songwriting and music technology as soon as I had enough information to do what I wanted to do I would be off to the races doing my own thing. It took me YEARS to really take a deep look at Buddhism because I was distrustful of it and all the teachers! It is a pointer to truth and the truth is inside of us and at some point we have to put the teachings aside, kill the Buddha and look within. Which I do every morning and evening :) ha ha

We are told to 'think outside the box' all the time, but how exactly do we do that? How do we develop the ability to confront problems in ways other than the ways we normally confront problems? How do we cultivate the ability to look at things differently from the way we typically look at things? On this question I do ponder, often. Thank you for your post, I do enjoy them greatly.

That was brilliant Ben! This: "I'd go into the system looking for freedom and sooner or later I'd find myself imprisoned within the system." I can totally relate to that. While promising liberation and sometimes even salvation, systems are by default limiting. And yet most of us are drawn to the sense of safety and identity we get from them. At least initially. I believe this is partly due to social conditioning, but ultimately I think we do it because it takes courage and a certain degree of spiritual maturity to find your own way in life.

PS. Love your yellow suit!

Really I have enjoyed this inspirational speech. Your speech really impressed me. Your musin in last really facinated also me. You are also looking so handsome20180224_035602.jpg
Thank you dear for sharing this post with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80