NO MORE UNPAID CONTENT: Why the Huffington Post Deciding to Pay Their Writers Matters to You!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

huffingtonpost.png


There is a shift occurring in the news media/social media landscape.
Click the @dtube link to learn more!

Follow @benleemusic for daily thoughts, music, videos, dreams and musings


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

A very interesting video indeed.

I always wondered how all my peers in the blogging community were getting featured in the Huff Post. But now you mention it, it's the way you get ahead of the pack.

Offer your services for free and leverage the association.

And on another note, I really like your interview style. Would you consider interview the witnesses sitting at 20-30 to see what they have to offer the platform?

Not much is known about some of them and I imagine plenty would be interested to learn more.

PS: You can miss Jerry Banfield as we already know too much about him ;-)

Thanks for your ideas. Is there anyone particular you think I should connect with of those 20-30?

Hi Really enjoy your work. Wanted to invite you to speak at Steem Creators Conference April 13-15, 2018 in Las Vegas.
I'm I.J. @steemcafe email me at [email protected]
cc logo 2.3.jpg

Hi Ben! Thanks so much for sharing this information. I have always been heartbroken by the policy of sites like Huffpost to not pay their writers. While I see the business sense, it always seemed that it was going to be a bad move for everyone, businesses included, in the long run. Which is a very good reason why we are here on Steemit, and have the real direct opportunity to earn from our content! I am really happy to find you here on Steemit, and I look forward to your posts and music!

I agree - this feels like we are headed to a more just and sustainable model.

Absolutely. I was blown away by the model of steemit, and really thought for a bit it was too good to be true... but its true! I like that to some degree it is self regulating, if your content is strong, and people like it, the rewards will be proportional over time. If you blast out random useless stuff just to make some cash, you probably won't last long. It really creates the incentive for contributors to dig deep and give their best. I feel like we are on the edge of a new era for artists!

It's really good to see that there is actually a shift. I've never understood many of my colleagues (mainly in writing, editing, translating), even in union-like associations, when they said "this work is such fun, doesn't matter that I don't get paid fairly". Of course people should get paid, and get paid fairly, for creating good content. Glad it's taking a turn for the better, and glad that all of us can participate and change things.

Very interesting. I am trying to get the paper that I am currently writing for to join Steemit. Let's get more journalism on the blockchain :)

Yep pitch it to them!

I'm excited to see someone on the front edge of this speaking about the content/creator aspect of the near future. wow man it sounds like you are on top of this. best of luck. ps i loved my visit to the "down under" i always found my self with friendly people down there.

Im learning along with everyone else - its a fascinating time!

Love this Ben.

Thank you.

You Got DTube to Work!!!!!! 😮 via laptop or mobile...? I still wait for ages watching the ‘snapshot’ to fully upload 😕

I downloaded the web browser "Opera" to my computer and it seems to work great

Awesome. Thank you !!

Congratulations @benleemusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

that is indeed valuable content! Have my upvote! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67676.49
ETH 2622.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63