Since when do you remember yourself?🤔#63video

in #dtube6 years ago


The other day I was discussing with friends issues of memory. One girl said she remembered herself from the age of 8, the other said she didn't remember the names of her classmates. I was very surprised, because I remember myself from 4 years and even remember the names of those with whom I went to kindergarten to 7 years.

As it turned out, many people don’t remember what happened to them in childhood, they remembered only some moments. Some can't even remember what address they had, what names their friends had as they were children.

I think what we remember largely depends on what we attach importance to, what we pay attention to.
I remember the names of my classmates in kindergarten, because I thought it was important even then, as a child. And many years later, I easily signed our common photos.

But not everyone thought it was important to remember names.
I three times re-acquainted with a boy with whom I was friends in kindergarten – in 8, 13 and 15 years. And every time he couldn't remember me. But as a child, we even went to each other's homes with parents and celebrated birthdays together!
It was fun.

Why bother to think about what age you can remember?
Because physiologically, our memory can be quite stable from 5 years, that is, from this age we can remember ourselves and all events without gaps.
But when you're not, it means you weren't aware of yourself when you were 5. Or that memory lapses protect you from some important information that traumatized you as a child. I think the case of my friend, who remembers only 8 years – just out of this category. Because remember nothing, even sketchy, up to 8 years - it is non-physiological.

So, since when do you remember yourself clearly?


Subscribe to my YouTube-channel!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I remember when @navaneeth asked this question and it bewildered me for a long time. This is a very peculiar human character differing from person to person. We all have different memory ranges, some more some less.
But I think I will agree with you when you say it depends on how important do you deem the memories. Just like the alphabets or nursery rhymes, or even some memories with our loved ones when we were younger.

This is one of the best and mind-boggling topics I have come across on here.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, @blind-spot!
Yes, this is a good question, there is something to think about.

I remember kindergarten pretty well and I remember a few moments before then. One memory I'm sure was from when I was 1 or 2 years old. I think some people can also have repressed memories because of trauma as a child. My parents divorced when I was 3 and ironically I don't remember any of that time leading up to kindergarten.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, important events affect memory - or remember them very well, or forget completely due to the fact that they are traumatic.

Greetings, dear Behelen

I remember things about me from when I was little. I remember being a 2-year-old baby and taking a bottle at dawn. I have several memories from the early days of high school for example. My memory is very good and this has its good side and its bad side, because, the bad things, I can not forget either ....

Thank you and good morning!!!

It's cool that you have such early memories, @julisavio!
And about the bad things you remember, you're a psychologist, and you can handle it)!

@behelen, nice video. I remember many moments from the Kinder garden. My best friends in the Kinder garden were Boris and Janko. At that time I was 4-5 years old. I went to school when I was 6 years old.

Btw, I remember some moments when I was 2 years and a half old.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @cryptospa!
Good thing you remember your friends' names! I also remember some moments in 2 and 3 years, but constantly beginning to recognize myself since 4.

This is a great subject, and one that i contemplate regularly, especially due to the great variance amongst people. I am now 53, and i think that my earliest memories, would be from around 7, maybe 6. I do remember the address, and a couple of closest friends. Even high school memories though are very fragmented.
Peace.

Thank you, @bobaphet!
Yes, all people are different, and it's very interesting to discuss.

I can't remember everything but some certain things i remember. I agree with you because sometimes because of situation we forget lots of things. I don't know actually what i can remember but i can remember my sweet memories of my childhood...

Hey @behelen! You are asking sooo interesting questions everytime :D Really creative!

The earliest memory I have - or I think I have - is from the age of 4-5 when we got our first garden in the town I grew up. The garden was introduced by my grandpa to my parents and I kind of know how this was.
When I was talking to my mom one day that I remember this she said that I was around 4 1/2 and that it was exactly as I am remembering.
But it could be that I remember stories about this happening and my brain cells formed this to real memorable images. I don't really know.. ^^

But I remember quite a lot from my early childhood and youth. I remember 50% of my classmates names from first and second class (so I was around 6-8 years old) and more from the following years.

Thanks for bringing this topic up!

Thank you, @tibfox! I'm glad you find my questions interesting.

I also have a memory or "memory" when I was only 1 month old. I'm sure I can't really remember it, but I've been told this story so many times that I thought it was my own memory.

i can remember certain things in my childhood.

Posted using Partiko Android

Since when (how old were you) do you remember yourself and all in your life good?

7 i think,
i cry on the floor show everyone to see,
to give pressure to my mom
and force her buy me a toy
but i can't remember what toy already.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting))!

I remember many many things from childhood like it happened yesterday. Even from grade 1 and before. What a certain teacher said or what another classmate did. Many things. I think some people pretend not to remember certain things. or just refuse to recall certain events. As a way to move forward.

Thanks for sharing this nice thought really glad you brought this to light. Enjoy!

I know what you mean.
But I think they're not pretending, they've really forgotten)).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16