You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YouTube vs. Dtube - Why Steem Has a Hard Time Attracting and Retaining Quality Content Creators

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Really? I don't really know about the history, but I know that there are a couple of YouTubers who repost their YouTube videos to Dtube and quite consistently get the DTube upvote... and because they're so consistent (because the YouTube algorithm demands it) , they often get that upvote more than people who create only for DTube.

I know you weren't asking me, but in my experience, DTube just doesn't lend itself to quality videos at all. If you create an amazing video for YouTube, it will be there forever and you can potentially earn from it forever. Lots of YouTubers may not earn much from a single video, but their whole collection earns them good money overall. DTube just doesn't have the content consumers, and so you can create a really great video, and if no one sees it or votes on in the first couple of hours, it kinda feels like you've wasted your time. With YouTube, there's always that hope that an older video still might go well.

I think this is why we'll never see the "How To" videos on DTube that is an absolutely huge part of YouTube.

Sort:  

Good points! Yeah I have specific examples but I really don’t want to name names or cause any drama. And maybe the culture finally is changing, I just know that back in the old days there was this obsession with quality.... its totally possible im just a cranky old man yelling for kids to get off his lawn though

Haha, that's exactly why we get along so well... we're both just old dudes yelling at the kids.

I honestly haven't seen an obsession with quality in the past couple of months I've been active... but that doesn't mean that's not happening now, just means I'm running in different circles.

You can still run? I’m way too old for that nonsense

Old videos (reposts) shouldn't be getting upvoted, can you pinpoint me the videos in question ?

Sorry Heimindanger, I didn't say old videos. What I meant is the users that create their videos for a YouTube audience (usually say things like "Like and Subscribe buttons, hit that Bell button for notifications, etc"), but also upload that same video to DTube that same day.

I haven't noticed people uploading old backlogged YouTube videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87