You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Confessions: Why is Morale So Low on Steemit?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

It honestly does feel like of our little gang that started, you and I are the only ones left... I've noticed that even our yoga/pole friends are earning significantly less than they were. I'm back to earning my $3 posts and I've noticed the chance of getting a random $5 or $8 comment vote has gone from once or twice a week... to zero.... and because Whales seem to have lost interest then people aren't creating as amazing content and we're on a downhill slide.

I think the problem is that we're all here to make money, and that's probably not the right approach - we should be here because it's fun and interesting and friendly and we can do things here that we can't do on other social media. I think we need to forget about the money side although and use it as a platform to do what we love.

YouTubers didn't originally make any money... they just loved the idea that people could see their videos.. and I think that's the mindset we need to have.

I'm sorry that someone ripped off your ideas.. that sucks... but unfortunately it's always going to happen whenever you do something great... so the secret is to always be improving, always be getting better so that if someone copies you... they're coping yesterdays-Beth... and they're still nowhere near tomorrows-Beth.

All our friends that have left... I really wish they'd set their accounts to follow curation-trails or delegate their SP or something... all that 100%VP just sitting there makes me cry...

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, I know right?!? I was really sad about @pawsdog, and @mrpuzzle and a number of others, on top of those I have noticed that are talking about leaving. And those people are like nearly dolphins. Or maybe just bass...puffer fish? Who knows?

I would love to just use the platform to just use it, and I totally understand where you are coming from, though, then why not just use another platform? I mean, sure FB takes my info and such, but I do still laugh for hours looking at my friends' memes on Facebook. Most everyone I know is still there, and even though I had to invest a little into FB, I have a fan page of over 2000 followers, and FB helped get our last video out to over 150k views. I am definitely not pulling those kinds of numbers here.

I don't know, I guess I am just sad and discouraged, and feel alone.

And @just2random too...

You're allowed to feel sad and alone... but I'm still here, I've got your back! I doubt I'll ever leave Facebook though... and while the random comments sometimes drive me bonkers, I've got a decade of life just sitting right there... with all my friends and event notifications.

I guess I've come from a completely different place... where I used to write on my own website and no one would read it... no one would comment and no one would engage (except for the 3 weeks when the TV show was on and I'd get 10,000 daily views). I'd put posts on Facey, and then people would comment, but those comments were on Facebook which meant that people Googling my page would never see those conversations... so for me Steem is a huge improvement.. and with it's high Alexa score it helps Google rank my website too.

In times like this, I think of the early adopters who have now become whales... they had no idea if this would have any sort of success, but they kept plugging away because they saw the potential in the platform. I feel the same way... I imagine that once summer rolls round that crypto will be on everyone's minds again (after a stack of technological improvements have been completed) and Steem will be back to where it was... or something like EOS comes along and is better, but it airdrops it's token to all of us and we play on both. Morale might be low right now and for the next few months, but the future does look bright to me.

Yeah, @just2random promised he wasn't leaving, just downsizing his contributions. It's hard to say for sure if we will see much of him though. It's definitely very sad. Our shitpost-searching #fight4steem group is gone. I am glad you are still here. You were my first friend, and I am happy to see your posts still!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41