Day 43 - Chicago Ninja Academy

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


This facility is very much under construction... they were set up all nicely for years in a great location, and then their building got sold out from under them and they had two weeks to move all their obstacles and everything they had spent years building.

The owner explained everything that they're going to do over the next few weeks and it sounds amazing. I can't wait to check it out in a little while.

I was really sore and tired when I was here, so there isn't a lot in this video.... but next time I'll hit it with Super Mega Enthusiasm!

This is the gym I drove 3 hours for and 2 hours back from Milwaukee Wisconsin to Naperville Illinois.
The facility is super new and all the obstacles were built by ATS which is the company that builds all the obstacles on American Ninja Warrior.
I'll do a review of the gym in a later post, but this is just a quick video of me smashing or getting smashed by a few of the obstacles.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well if they literally built the obstacles for the actual course then it sounds like that's a fairly good training routine, hehe. Unless they scale down everything by a few cm just to troll you later when you realize everything is oddly just a bit off on the real course.

Hi @charitybot!

Thanks so much for dropping by! After you huge competition win, you're a bit of a celebrity now, so super, super excited to see you here!

So the last place in Naperville was built by the people who build the show... Chicago Ninja Academy builds all their own stuff... but yes, it definitely helps to train... all the different ninja gyms all have their obstacles slightly different, so it's super important to floozy it up and visit them all.

Haha, I had planned to do some stuff on that thread and around steemit in general when my delegation hit, but SBD and Steem holding firm at these price levels must have gotten everyone's attention and the bidding war is making for crazy APRs, and I didn't want to be handing people 0 cent upvotes in that convo.

I guess training at different places helps the brain and body adapt to the different environments, that could be handy as they've been known to frequently mix things year to year! Keep on training hard and stay healthy!

Geez they could do with another 1 foot in height, as having to curl your legs up wouldn't be a natural position, would it?

Mind you, your height would help on the warped wall.

Watching some American Ninja last night. So of those obstacles are brutal.

No, not at all. Good pickup!
It really does need to be higher... curling your legs up prevents you from having straight arms.. which is harder on the muscles but way kinder on the tendons. I don't think they'll move it up though, that's the problem with having the same gym shared by kids and adults.

I'm 5'8" so I'm not super tall... but yes, anyone, say 5" finds the Warped Wall that much harder... which is all the more amazing when the shorties totally smash it!

Dayum, that place looks worth the drive. That move where you are having to turn that bar thing above your head like in a dead hang, that's incredible. You look like you are getting on pretty well! How are you feeling? Better I hope! Thanks for sharing this! It's so fun getting to see what you are describing in your posts! Keep killing it!

My neck is much better thank you!
It's not 100%, but it's definitely much much better, and isn't holding me back at all.
Now I'm all about the tendonitis, once I get that under control I can really start to push things to prepare for my comps. It's definitely exciting times!

place seems to be great. All the best for your 3rd Feb challenge.

Thanks @kamchore! It is super great! I always have a great time there.

I had no idea such gyms were around! I drive right by Naperville on my commute to work. I have some ultrarunning/crossfit friends who might be interested in checking it out.

Do you really? If you google "Ninja Gyms" in your area... seriously, like 7 pop up. Chicago has more ninja gyms than any other city in the US. It's amazing.

Thanks for commenting on my posts! I really appreciate it! So exciting to see a brand new face on my posts! Thank you so much.

Now this is more like what we have in the UK, although ours are a still a bit more primitive! I'm surprised the ATS guys wouldn't just use the rigging like they normally do? If you see Spyro say hi from me!

It's funny, all the older gyms are like this... where everything is made from wood with blood, sweat and tears... and all the newer gyms are just borrowing ALLLLLL the cash and buying super hardcore expensive set ups. That said... there was a very different vide between the heartfelt grassroots gyms and the new but clinically lifeless new gyms.

I didn't quite understand your question about ATS... ATS have nothing to do with Chicago Ninja Academy but they did built the rig for Ultimate Ninjas in Naperville. The Naperville one looks pretty much like the stuff on the show... very similar materials and all super solid with the TRESS metal system.

I know what you mean, one of the first ones in the UK still has concrete floors for landing mats on quite a lot of sketchy balance obstacles. I think the problem is that if Ninja training is going to go mainstream which seems to be what the community want, then the places have to be a lot more professionally made and safer to use.

Ah, that's just me getting mixed up at the end, I thought you were saying THIS one was built by the ATS guys!

Hmm i just saw you do the cool "ninja" stuff, maybe for the trading card we could even do some sort of pose like the one you are in here. I would shrink your face a bit in the picture frame but a partial body pose may even be cool. We will discuss when in chat later. If you got a few other pics like this please feel free to drop them in the chat DM as well.

I've actually got a heap of photos... because so many ninjas love to document everything. We can chat tomorrow but I'm confident I can dump a heap of source material on you.

Looks like a fun place to run around XD (though I need to get back into things first, I've suddenly developed a brutal streak of complete cowardice o_O though it's probably triggerd by my current complete lack of fitness)

You made that spinny thing look easy XD

I'm not convinced that kid was using those nunchucks right XP

goatsig

Hahaha, you're so funny! Love it.
He definitely wasn't using those nunchucks right... because they weren't nunchucks, they were just too pipes with hooks... as soon as he tried anything one would fly right off.

You do need to get back into things. Once you start, it'll all come flying back to you... and you work so hard, I'm sure you could use some stress relief.

Thank you! I've never gotten that spinny thing before. I was rapt with this effort.

Two pipes with hooks, yep totally safe XD Detach and use 'em as hook swords XD

I have things to do for stress relief :D

And well you should be, that was awesome!

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80